Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting books (and articles) from another library -- Interlibrary Loan
If we don't own it, we can probably borrow it for you from another library. Request it online.
Then pick it up at the Interlibrary Loan Office on 2nd floor of the Humanities, Social Science & Education Library in STEWART CENTER.
FIND FULL TEXT ARTICLES
Looking for a specific journal? We probably have it in digital format. Best method is to use the Online Journalsl list.
Pay attention to the date coverage information –
- some are only for a certain period of time,
- some journals are NOTavailable (or EMBARGOED) for the first 6 to 12 months.
Alternately use the Library catalog to search for journals (both print and ejournals) owned by the Purdue Libraries
- Print journals are located at different LIBRARIES on campuse according to their subject area.
- Many older issues are located in the Hicks Repository.
- Look for the name of the LIBRARY or HICKS before the call number under the "Find Print" button.
If the Library doesn't own the journal article, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Off Campus Access Links
Using your PU ID and password, you can get to the databases, journals and e-books that the library owns.
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
MathSciNet MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
This is a list of research guides that point to resources in specific subject areas. To see the full list of business databases, please visit the Parrish Library Website.
Web of Science: All Databases
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Seamless integration with EndNote.
Searching for articles on a specific topic? The Library provides access to almost 500 databases that index articles. To find the databases in your area:
- You can browse them alphabetically.
- Or open the "All Categories" window to limit to a broad area such as Arts & Humanities.
- Further limit your search for the right database by using the "Filter" window.
Scopus Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.
Science and Engineering Databases
Compendex Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases.Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. The Inspec database is an invaluable information resource for all scientists and engineers, that contains 13 million abstracts and specialized indexing to the world's quality research literature in the fields of physics and engineering.
IEEE Xplore IEEE Xplore is a powerful online resource for accessing scientific and technical publications produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to a comprehensive collection of full-text PDF documents comprising the world's most highly cited journals in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. In addition to journals, conference publications, and technical standards content, IEEE Xplore provides access to books and educational resources.
MathSciNet MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 and provides access to data from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
SciFinder SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in CHEMISTRY and related sciences. To use SciFinder WEB you must first register and create your own SciFinder username and password.
All Disciplines, But Especially Liberal Arts
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database covering periodicals, journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. in areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Proquest Research Library From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers covering over 150 academic disciplines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
JSTOR JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) is an electronic archive of core scholarly journals, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of the entire backfiles of key journals. Over 246 academic journals cover the subject areas of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR coverage is defined by a 2 to 5 year "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR. The Library subscribes to three JSTOR collections: Arts and Sciences I, Arts and Sciences II, and General Sciences.
PsycINFO This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law
Business and Management Databases
ABI Inform Collection The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Education Source The most complete collection of full-text education journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing
How to Find Books in our Online Catalog
FIND BOOKS AT PURDUE
Search for a book (both print and electronic) owned by the PURDUE LIBRARIES using the Library catalog.
Graduate students get 16 WEEK LOANS, unless recalled by another user, with NO limit to the number items that can be borrowed. Your PU id is your library card. More information about borrowing privileges is available here.
A PU Career Account ID and password are required to access electronic books.
Broaden your search to all the CIC Libraries (the major research libraries in the MidWest) by using UBORROW. Books will be sent to Purdue Libraries Interlibrary Loan department for pick up.
Broaden your search even further by using WorldCat, a major database of about 40 million books and other items at libraries around the world. Then request them via Interlibrary Loan.