Research Guides: WGSS 280: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: An Introduction: Home

Welcome!

This page has been tailored for Women's Studies: An Introduction (WGSS 280). Check out the links below for a variety of sources and tips to help you complete your assignments for the course.

Contact Heather (contact info, left) to schedule a research consultation, or send questions via email. If you have suggestions for improving this page, please send them to me via email.

Finding Articles

Use these databases to find primarily scholarly research articles related to women's studies. Each has a different focus, so read the brief descriptions below before searching.

Women's Studies International
Includes primarily scholarly articles presenting feminist research.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
JSTOR
Full-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Finding Books & eBooks

Concise Companion to Feminist Theory

Library Search (link below) will lead you to thousands of print and e-Books available through Purdue Libraries. Narrow results by using the options on the left side of the page, or try searching in the search box at the top for your type of feminism: "radical feminism" for instance.

Library Search
Search Purdue Libraries online catalog for books, available online and in print, articles, journals, and more.

A few eBooks for overviews and intros:

Feminist Philosophies: A to Z
"A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy from Abject to Naomi Zack ... Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism."
Feminist Theory

Finding Archives & Other Primary Sources

The sites listed below provide access to primary sources (photographs, speeches, manuscripts, and historical materials) related to women's history.

Discovering American Women's History Online
Includes primary sources that document the history of women in the United States.
New York Times Historical
Complete cover-to-cover backfiles of the New York Times with page images.
Purdue's Susan Bulkeley Butler Women's Archives
Website for Purdue's women archives. Includes papers of women who helped shape Purdue and Indiana history. Click on the site's "Contact" link if you're interested in visiting the Archives, or have questions about the collections.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Includes books, letters, images, essays, and more documenting American women's reform activities from the colonial period into the 20th century.

Women Working, 1870-1930
Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections.
Women's Speeches from Around the World
Self-explanatory.

WGSS 280: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: An Introduction

Need help?

Search Google Scholar

Welcome!

Finding Articles

Finding Books & eBooks

A few eBooks for overviews and intros:

Finding Archives & Other Primary Sources