Critical Disability Studies in Archives

Provides PDFS of publications on information and technical assistance regarding the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The story of American eugenics using archival materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, which was the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940. Includes numerous reports, articles, charts, and images that detail the evolution of American eugenics.

The APH Library primarily supports the research, business, and educational needs of APH staff while also supporting visiting researchers and those pursuing careers in the education of the blind. The M.C. Migel Memorial Collection, which is part of the APH Library, promotes research, education, and social and cultural awareness by collecting and providing access to non-medical materials related to blindness and visual impairment.

This carefully organized collection includes the histories of deaf education, religion, Hartford, and the United States. It also links ASD’s heritage and regional impact with its contributions to the Deaf Community as a whole. Thousands of documents available including letters and periodicals. Copies of some materials available for request via an online form.

Online archive that aims to provide disabled people, students and scholars with an interest in this and related fields, access to the writings of those disability activists, writers and allies whose work may no longer be easily accessible in the public domain. It is hoped that the documents available via the Archive will help to inform current and future debates on disability and related issues.

Online documents and visual stills associated with the cultural and social history of people with disabilities across their lifespan and diagnosis categories. The records illuminate everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives.

Extensive physical archive of materials related to disabled people between 1920 and 2019, located in Manchester, UK. Cataloguing is underway and a few materials are available for viewing online.

The Helen Keller Archival Collection at the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB) is the world’s largest repository of letters, speeches, press clippings, scrapbooks, photographs, architectural drawings, artifacts and audio-video materials relating to Helen Keller. Fully accessible digitally.

This document compiles a list—by no means complete—of entities that have played an active role in documenting disability in history. Many of the resources and descriptions listed were adapted from The Disability History/Archives Consortium: A Portal to Disability History Collections White Paper. Others have been identified by members of the A&D Section.

This collection contains 77.5 linear feet of material accumulated by Dr. Walter Freeman and Dr. James W. Watts during the course of their medical careers, specifically their work on psychosurgery. The materials range in date from 1918-1988 (bulk 1940-1965) and consists of patient medical files, correspondence, articles and reprints, books, manuscripts, conference and research notes, photographs, oral histories, and medical equipment. Located at George Washington University Archives. Part of the collection is available digitally.

The Museum of disABILITY History is dedicated to advancing the understanding, acceptance and independence of people with disabilities. The Museum's exhibits, collections, archives and educational programs create awareness and a platform for dialogue and discovery. Entirely virtual.