Research Guides: HTM 591: Research Issues in Food Service Management: Home

Textbook

Doing Case Study Research by Dawson R. Hancock; Bob Algozzine; Jae Hoon Lim Now in a Fourth Edition, this how-to guide is an excellent starting point for anyone looking to begin case study research. The authors-all professors teaching graduate students in education and other professions-provide the structure, detail, and guidance needed for beginning researchers to complete a systematic case study. Improvements for this edition include more practical and detailed guidance for conducting a literature review, a more efficient and easy-to-understand reorganization of the case study examples, and updated citations throughout the text. As with previous editions, this succinct handbook emphasizes learning how to do case study research-from the first step of deciding whether a case study is the way to go to the last step of verifying and confirming findings before disseminating them. It shows students how to determine an appropriate research design, conduct informative interviews, record observations, document analyses, delineate ways to confirm case study findings, describe methods for deriving meaning from data, and communicate findings. Book Features: Straightforward introduction to the science of doing case study research. A step-by-step approach that speaks directly to the novice investigator. Many concrete examples to illustrate key concepts. Questions, illustrations, and activities to reinforce what has been learned.
ISBN: 9780807765869
Publication Date: 2021-08-30

Creating a Research Strategy

Research Paper Resources

ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
AGRICOLA (NAL interface) This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all aspects of agriculture and its related sciences. This link is to the US National Agricultural Library (NAL) SEARCH interface for AGRICOLA plus the PubAg database of USDA-authored research and more, Ag Data Commons open data, and NAL digital collections.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) contains abstracts of the worldwide literature of food science, food technology, and food-related human nutrition. Topics covered relate to every aspect of the food chain including biotechnology, food safety, food science, functional and novel foods, additives, nutrition and packaging.
Sources include: scientific journals, patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, and legislation. A thesaurus of indexing terms provides for more precise searching.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism, the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries, and guidance for travelers such as information on state parks, planning a vacation, and full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Web of Science: All Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook 2020-2021 by Richard K. Miller
Publication Date: 2020
With a thorough and in-depth analysis of the $860 billion restaurant and foodservice industry, Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook provides consumer spending data, market forecasts, and trends assessments. The trends assessments include discussions of consumer behavioral trends, dining trends, daypart analysis, mealpart analysis, and more. Comprehensive demographic data for all dayparts at full-service and quick-service restaurants, as well as an analysis of restaurant spending in each state and dining statistics for metropolitan areas, are provided.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Data-driven reports on industries. Each report is approximately 30-40 pages in length, providing an authoritative overview of trends, competitive forces, statistics, top companies, and more.
Mintel
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and consumer data: primarily B2C (business-to-consumer) categories like food and drinks, travel, beauty and personal care, pets, household goods, and retail and apparel.
BCC Market Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: primarily STEM (science, technology, engineering, medicine) categories like advanced materials, chemicals, manufacturing, and pharmaceuticals.
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates industry reports, economic information, and consumer information by region and country with global coverage.
MarketResearch.com Academic
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports: a wide range of categories like food and beverage, technology and media, heavy industry, life science, consumer goods, and service industries.
Plunkett Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates industry reports, company profiles, and job-seeker resources.

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates company profiles, business news, and industry reports.
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Citation Management

Zotero
by Michael Witt Last Edited Jun 8, 2023 661 views this year

Zotero

HTM 591: Research Issues in Food Service Management

Business Information Specialist

Parrish Library Contact Info

Textbook

Creating a Research Strategy

Research Paper Resources

Citation Management

Mendeley Website & Tutorials