Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Browser Extension - LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the Purdue Library's subscription resources.

LibKey Nomad - How to use

LibKey Nomad in Action

When you land on a page for an article, LibKey Nomad automatically checks against the Purdue Library's subscriptions and provides a link to:

  • PDF of the article, if available
  • Manuscript version (via Unpaywall), if available
  • Link to request full text, if full text is not available

If you are off campus you will be directed to authenticate with BoilerKey before being taken to the PDF of the article. LibKey Nomad does not store your credentials or require you to create an account.

What to look for

LibKey Nomad automatically places a button in the bottom corner of a compatible webpage. This button changes its appearance to indicate what level of access is available.

Download PDF indicates that the Purdue Library provides access to the PDF, and will take you directly to the PDF of the document.

Article Link indicates that the Purdue Library provides access to the article, and will take you to a page where you can access the article. You may be able to download the article from there.

Access Options... indicates that the Purdue Library does not have direct online access to the article. Clicking this will take you directly to the link resolver where you can select further access options such as interlibrary loan.  Here is a quick demo screencast showing how this works: https://www.screencast.com/t/vKqNm0jp6i7

Special features

Wikipedia

LibKey Nomad integrates with Wikipedia to provide quick access links for items in the references list.

Screenshot of Wikipedia reference list

PubMed

LibKey Nomad provides full text links to items in PubMed search results.

Screenshot of PubMed search results

Other resources

LibKey Nomad also works with some subscription databases, including Scopus and Web of Science.