Research Guides: Agricultural Economics: Articles

Articles, Reports, and Working Papers

AGRICOLA (Ovid interface)
AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
EconLit
Economic research published over the past 130 years with citations to journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and more. Produced by the American Economic Association.

Ag Econ Search
Free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles
World Bank Data
Comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the website's Data Catalog.

Factiva
Strong in newspapers, international sources and general business publications
Environmental Studies
Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
CAB Abstracts
Provides authoritative research information on agriculture, environment and related applied life sciences.

Sources scanned selectively for records are: professional and trade journals, reports, bulletins, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, scientific texts, technical and popular books, theses, annual reports and a few categories of patents and standards.

FAOSTAT
Data on production, prices, and trade on food and agriculture around the world. http://blogs.lib.purdue.edu/news/2010/02/16/mels-database-of-the-week-for-21210/

OECD iLibrary
Produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, this resource includes books, papers, and statistics providing access to OECD analysis and data. Includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Coverage 1998-present.

U.S.D.A. Economics, Statistics and Market Systems
The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are updated yearly.
World Development Indicators
An analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries, generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Includes such environmentally related information as percentage of arable land, electricity consumption, drinking water source, and natural gas consumption.

PAIS International
Bibliographic index with abstracts covering issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Coverage 1972-present.
Passport
Aggregates industry reports, economic information, and consumer information by region and country with global coverage.