Research Guides: WGSS 380: Comparative Studies In Gender And Culture: Home

Resources

Credo Reference
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgemann Art Library Archive.
ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines offering balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Providing access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers, this library resource offers coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Updated daily.
U.S. History
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
CountryWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Key publications produced by CountryWatch include the CountryReviews, an up-to-date series of publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, and the CountryWire,which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world and a significant news archive made up of the compendium of regional news carriers.

CIA World Factbook
Library of Congress Country Studies
OECD’s Gender Equality Data
The OECD Gender Data Portal include indicators of gender inequality in education, employment, entrepreneurship, health and development. The portal provides interactive data and charts with information on employment statistics among females and males, financing available for women owned business, and access to health care and education for women showing inequalities between genders among these spectrums. The data covers OECD member countries, as well as partner economies including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.
UN Women Publications
UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.

WGSS 380: Comparative Studies In Gender And Culture

Information Specialist

Other Resources

Resources