Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Searching for Photos in the Purdue Archives: Home

How to search for photos in the Archives

Grand Prix 2008

2008 Purdue Grand Prix winner Jon Laski

The 2008 Purdue Grand Prix winner Jon Laski trails 2007 winner Liz Lehmann into a turn during the 51st running of the race.
From Purdue Students digital collection. 

Purdue coach Ward Lambert and his basketball players, 1939

Coach Ward Lambert celebrating with his team

Coach Ward Lambert celebrating with his team following a victory against Indiana University, March 3, 1939.
From MSP 43, Collection of Purdue University photographs and Purdue University Athletics digital collection.

About Photographs in Purdue University Archives

The Purdue University Archives and Special Collections contains hundreds of thousands of photographs relating to the history, administration, and culture of Purdue University.  We also have photos pertaining to our specialized collecting areas, including space and flight, psychoactive substances research, and the women’s archives. These photos can come in the form of large photographic collections consisting of thousands of photos, smaller photographic collections, individual photos from various manuscript and records collections, or from scrapbooks.  Some have been digitized while some come directly to us in digital format, but the majority of them exist in some sort of physical medium such as prints, negatives or slides.  While it may not be possible to have all our photos in digital format, our goal is to make photos of people, places and events discoverable through online user-end search tools.  This guide can be used as a starting point in your search.  At any point in your research, do not hesitate to contact the archives staff for assistance.

Where to begin

Knowing where to begin when looking for photos can be a daunting task.  Here are some starting points that are explained in further detail on the corresponding pages in this guide.  At any point in your research, do not hesitate to contact an archives staff member for assistance.   We are here to assist you and may have access to some search tools that are not yet published.  

  1. Search our digital collections (digitized and born-digital), across all collections or specific targeted collections.  Digital Collections
  2. Use the Physical Collections tab to browse and search our physical photographic collections and other collections that contain photos.
  3. Look at scrapbooks and photograph-centric history books for leads.  Other Resources with Photographs

Processing and Public Services Archivist

Profile Photo
Rich Bernier
Contact:
STEW 453
765-494-9040

Using the Purdue Archives & Special Collections

FIND OUT MORE...
To find out more about using the Purdue Archives and Special Collections, view our ASC Overview guide or visit our website to the Archives and Special Collections to use a variety of different search tools.

VISIT US
The Archives are located on the fourth floor of the Humanities, Social Sciences and Education (HSSE) Library. We are open to the public Monday-Friday, 10:00 AM until 4:30 PM. Hours may be abbreviated during semester breaks and in the summertime. We encourage visitors to contact us about your research visit in advance so that we can better serve you.

CONTACT US
Email: archives@purdue.edu Phone: (765) 494-2839