Around 1700 AD the Lacandon Maya took refuge in the forest lowlands of Chiapas, Mexico, and in western Petén, Guatemala. They were never conquered by the Spanish and thus maintained many of their cultural practices well into the twentieth century. Their language belongs to the Yucatecan branch of the Maya language, a branch that is believed to have begun to diversify at least one thousand years ago. Today the Lancandon are split into northern and southern linguistic groups. This dictionary focuses on the southern Lacandon of Lacanjá. Following the same trilingual format as Hofling's Mopan Maya-Spanish-English Dictionary, this reference contains pronunciation and grammatical information. It is a hybrid of a root dictionary and one with words in alphabetical order; words can be looked up in these two different ways, making it easy to use for both native and nonnative speakers. It also accommodates Spanish speakers who wish to learn Lacandon, and in the future is likely to be helpful to Lacandon-speaking children, who increasingly use Spanish outside the home, while preserving a record of this indigenous language.
A Reference Grammar of Spanish is a comprehensive handbook on the structure of the Spanish language. Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, it provides a detailed yet clear point of reference on all the intricacies of Spanish grammar, covering word order, parts of speech, verb use, syntax, gender, number, alphabet, and pronunciation. Accompanied by a wealth of carefully chosen examples, it looks at Spanish in Iberia, the USA, Mexico, and Argentina, and demonstrates the differences between these varieties. It is designed specifically with English-speaking learners in mind, and contains useful tools such as a glossary of terms, an index, and a detailed examination of different registers of the language. Clearly structured and systematically organised, this volume is set to become the standard guide to the grammar of contemporary Spanish, and will be an invaluable resource for teachers and students, as well as a practical supplement to textbooks and classroom study.
The guide presents beginning Spanish vocabulary and expressions that students can use in everyday situations inside and outside of the classroom. Whenever possible, the themes are introduced with a question that prompts use of the vocabulary words and encourages communication.
An introduction to Spanish verbs, our guide covers the basic components of a verb and explains how conjugation works in Spanish. Presenting rules and examples for conjugating, this guide also provides lists of common verbs that have similar conjugations.
Our guide is designed to enhance students'ability to speak and write in Spanish. The speaking section includes a pronunciation chart, as well as mini-conversation frames based on everyday situations and topics, with word choices that allow students to personalize the conversations. The writing section describes the different sentence types and structures in Spanish, along with their uses, and guides students through the writing process to help them complete a descriptive paragraph.
BarCharts'best-selling Spanish Grammar guide has been updated and expanded! Learn the basics of Spanish grammar in our easily accessible format. Covering everything from rules of stress to the various verb categories and conjugations, this handy reference guide will help you master the hard-to-remember rules of Spanish grammar. This new edition features an additional panel of information, including more examples for easy comprehension.
The key to learning the Spanish language is the ability to conjugate Spanish verbs. This 6-page eGuide offers easy-to-read tables of conjugations for the 15 verb tenses and moods, with the changes bolded for quick reference. Sixty verbs and their meanings are included, with the irregular tenses and moods listed for each verb. Using the example conjugations, this guide becomes a powerful key to unlocking Spanish for communication.Topics covered include:Subject Pronouns Progressive Present Progressive Past Near Future Verb Tenses & Moods Regular – AR Regular Reflexive Regular – ER Regular – IR And more!Suggested uses:Students – inexpensive grade-booster for quick and easy answers Teachers – Inexpensive classroom tool Travelers – with conjugations being easy to find, this is a great travel buddy
&P Books vocabularies are intended to help you learn, memorize, and review foreign words. This bilingual dictionary contains over 3000 commonly used words arranged thematically. Recommended as additional support material to any language course. Meets the needs of beginners and advanced learners. Convenient for daily use, reviewing sessions and self-testing activities. Allows you to assess your current vocabulary. This book can also be used by foreigners to learn English. Words are arranged according to their meaning, not alphabetically. Content is presented in three columns to facilitate the reviewing and self-testing processes. Each theme is composed of small blocks of similar lexical units. The vocabulary offers a convenient and simple transcription for each foreign word. This revised edition (January 2013) contains 101 topics including: Basic concepts, Numbers, Units of measurement, The most important verbs, Time, Calendar, Day and night, Months, Seasons, Travel, Sightseeing, City, Shopping, Clothing & Accessories, Cosmetics, Telephone, Phone conversation, Foreign languages, Meals, Restaurant, Family members, Human body, Medicine, Furniture, Household appliances, The Earth, Weather, Natural disasters, Fauna, Wild animals, Countries of the world and more …
This book, first published in 2003, provides a comprehensive and structured vocabulary for all levels of undergraduate Spanish courses. It offers a broad coverage of the concrete and abstract vocabulary relating to the physical, cultural, social, commercial and political environment, as well as exposure to commonly encountered technical vocabulary. The accompanying exercises for private study and classroom use are designed to promote precision and awareness of nuance and register, develop good dictionary use, and encourage effective learning. The book includes both Iberian and Latin American vocabulary, and clearly identifies differences between the two varieties. • Consists of twenty units each treating a different area of human experience • Units are divided into three levels which allows core vocabulary in each area to be learned first, and more specialised or complex terms to be added at later stages • Vocabulary is presented in alphabetical order for ease of location.