Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
The advertisements on this website have been made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes under fair use, you may reproduce (print, make photocopies, or download) materials from this web site without prior permission, on the condition that you provide proper attribution of the source in all copies.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
A searchable database of all ASEE conference proceedings articles from 1996-present focused on engineering education for all disciplines of engineering and technology.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources and is operated by Bielefeld University Library. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes data from repository servers that use use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE provides more than 36 million documents from more than 2,200 sources. You can access full text for about 75% of the indexed documents.
Provides monthly indices and monthly averages of daily and weekly commodity prices since 1960. It is possible to view the latest figures released without delay, as well as full time series.
This Cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations, preprints, conference proceedings and other content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases from key publishers including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ in one place.
Content will continue to evolve as new research and information emerges.
This Pennsylvania State University-hosted resource seeks to facilitate collecting, disseminating, and using accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations with particular emphasis on military conflict.
Covers U.S. Economic Census data at the county level for agricultural services, mining, construction, manufacturing, transportation, public utilities, wholesale & retail trade, finance, insurance, real estate, and services.
An online library of teaching and research materials designed for use by business and management school professors. The site includes free case studies, syllabi, research articles, teaching resources, videos, and more. The 600 materials in the collection all relate to employee share ownership and equity compensation, addressed from a wide variety of theoretical and practical perspectives. You can filter your search based on your teaching or research area, or by subject.
Free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Economic Census. Includes Economy-Wide Key Statistics, Industry Statistics, Establishment and Firm Size Statistics, Miscellaneous Subjects Statistics and Annual Survey of Manufacturers. Also Geographic Area Series, Merchandise, Commodity, Receipt, and Revenue Lines Statistics.
Published every five years for years ending in 2 and 7.
EAA presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.
Bibliographic database sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier source for education-related research, documents, and journal articles. Purdue students and staff/faculty should use the EBSCO version to gain access to more full text articles.
This service allows users to search the resources provided by Cooperative Extension Services using a Google Custom Search Engine that includes many of the Cooperative Extension web sites provided by Land-Grant institutions.
This is a multilingual (English, French and Spanish) database currently containing over one million time-series records covering international statistics in areas including production, trade, land use, fertilizer and irrigation, fisheries and population. The time coverage of the data series sometimes varies, but is predominantly 40-50 years old. Data is downloadable. Primary Use: Searching and downloading time series data of international food and commodity information.
Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps. The geoportal's records have been aggregated from repositories located in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.
Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books. For every book, links are provided to bookstores where you can buy the book and libraries where you can borrow it.
Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Replaces GPO Access as the U.S. Government Printing Office's official system of record.
A growing collection of several million scanned books, journals, and other digital resources, comparable to Google Books. Benefits include full-text and advanced bibliographic search capabilities, and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain (26% of the collection).
HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 50 major research libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. It ingests digital content from its partner institutions as well as from Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are full text at HathiTrust, which is actively investigating the copyright status of works published up to 1964. Hathi (pronounced HAH-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, a symbol of memory, wisdom, and strength.
Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
Text of regulations Indiana State Agencies used to enforce Indiana state laws. Arranged numerically by agencies e.g. Title 45 Department of State Revenue.
The INIS Collection contains information about peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. It currently contains 2.7 million bibliographic abstracts of journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents and theses and web documents.
This Durham University database seeks to facilitate enhanced understanding of border areas, contribute to the peaceful resolution of boundary disputes, and engage with broader geographic questions concerning the changing nature of sovereignty, territory, citizenship, and the political organization of space. Since its founding as the International Boundaries Research Unit in 1989, IBRU has been the world’s leading research center on international boundary making and dispute resolution, creating impact through the services it provides to the public and private sectors. Today, IBRU brings together work in international boundary law with the geographic study of borders and bordering in the 21st century.
This University of Oregon resource provides information about international environmental agreements including bilateral agreements, multilateral agreements, and individual country membership actions. Contains datasets and links to scholarly literature on these environmental agreements.
A research tool that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts--quickly navigating to scholarship, line by line. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of British literature, the King James Bible, and all Shakespeare plays and sonnets.
This resource analyzes the current and emerging global political risk landscape. It covers economic, political, security, and social stability factors for countries around the world.
A free, medically-focused deep web search engine that accelerates your research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources, returning the most relevant results to one easily navigable page. The search occurs in real-time, retrieving relevant medical information as if you were going to each individual website yourself.
NOTE: This resource searches only public information and cannot return results from the libraries subscription or premium medical resources.
Houses a vast collection of documentary resources (currently more than 13,000 documents) accessible via a database where documents have been compiled, indexed and analyzed using a bilingual French-English thesaurus designed specifically for OIE areas of activity. The database compiles all the works and major reports, conference proceedings and journal articles published by the OIE and other institutions that are housed in OIE Headquarters and its documentation centre. In particular, the database includes all OIE periodicals and non-periodicals, as well as working papers by the OIE and organizations with which it has dealings.
An online research platform that is bringing Open Access to scholarly materials and resources in the field of phenomenology. This new initiative is building a comprehensive corpus of phenomenological sources including references, bibliographies, texts and detailed metadata with controlled indexing. The platform includes Open Access publishing of journals, serials, books, and an academic blogging platform, while also providing digital tools and workspace for researchers.
The Open Research Library is a hosting platform initiated and maintained by Knowledge Unlatched and BiblioLabs. It makes freely accessible scientific book publications, as well as other high-quality academic Open Access content, available to anyone for free use anywhere in the world.
ORL provides free access to a comprehensive collection of thousands of scholarly monographs, anthologies, journals, videos, posters and other formats.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Resource covering the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. Produced by the Commerce Department’s Bureau of Economic Analysis, it covers topics such as gross domestic product (GDP) by state, state and local area personal income, and facilitates analyzing state and local economies.
The SIPRI Arms Industry Database contains information on arms-producing and military services. It includes public and private companies, but not manufacturing or maintenance units of the armed services. The database contains financial data and employment data for arms-producing companies in the OECD and developing countries (except China) based on open sources. Sources include company annual reports and articles in journals and newspapers. Estimates of arms sales are made on the basis of open information.
Contains information on all transfers of major conventional weapons from 1950 to the most recent full calendar year. It is a unique resource for researchers, policy-makers and analysts, the media and civil society interested in monitoring and measuring the international flow of major conventional arms. The database is updated annually. The latest update is from 12 March 2018.
Contains consistent time series on the military spending of countries for the period 1949–2017. The database is updated annually, which may include updates to data for any of the years included in the database.
Military expenditure in local currency at current prices is presented according to both the financial year of each country and according to calendar year, calculated on the assumption that, where financial years do not correspond to calendar years, spending is distributed evenly through the year. Figures in constant (2016) and current US $, as a share of GDP and per capita are presented according to calendar year. Figures as a share of government expenditure are presented according to financial year. The availability of data varies considerably by country, but for a majority of countries that were independent at the time, data is available from at least the late 1950s. Estimates for regional military expenditure have been extended backwards depending on availability of data for countries in the region, but no estimates for total world military expenditure are available before 1988 due to the lack of data for the Soviet Union. SIPRI military expenditure data is based on open sources only.
Online social network featuring blog articles on big issues from key players in social science, a forum to share discussion, announcements of funding and job opportunities, and a resource center with videos and reports.
The Hate Map publishes an annual census of hate groups operating within the United States. A hate group is an organization that, based on its official statements or principles, the statements of its leaders, or its activities, has beliefs or practices that attack or malign an entire class of people.
speechBITE is a database that provides open access to a cataloge of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents.
Allows user to find information on a specific construction product or manufacturer. Provides a searchable collection of information on building materials based on manufacturer's catalogs. Arranged in 16 building trades divisions, the directory of construction may be searched by state and city, name of company and business type.
Provides a sustainable methodology and platform for access and findability of coordination resources across a diverse range of transportation technical assistance centers and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).
From the dominant big green books of the Thomas Register to today, when the Thomas Network at Thomasnet.com is the go-to resource for product sourcing and supplier selection, our singular focus has been on helping to fuel the success of industry.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. As well as research evidence it also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are updated yearly.
U.S. Census Bureau database containing Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. Provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level. Includes state and U.S. individual U.S. ports import and export data.
Get the latest and most up-to-date tourism statistics for all the countries and regions around the world. Data on inbound, domestic and outbound tourism is available, as well as on tourism industries, employment and complementary indicators. Besides the convenient access by alphabetical or geographical selection, the Tourism Statistics section offers a multiple country search as well as other additional data sets. All statistical tables available are displayed and can be accessed individually.
PHAROS is an international consortium of fourteen European and North American art historical photo archives committed to creating a digital research platform allowing for comprehensive consolidated access to photo archive images and their associated scholarly documentation.
