Research Guides: MGMT 488: Data-Driven Decisions In Digital Markets: Home

Company Financial & Stock Price Data

S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A top resource for company financials/valuations. Includes information on equities, credit ratings, competitors, transactions, and more. Explore pricing across markets including indices, commodities, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, or executives. Includes an optional Excel plug-in.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.
LSEG Workspace: Datastream (add-on by request)
100+ years of historical financial data from the London Stock Exchange Group typically accessed via Excel Add-In by expert researchers using LSEG Workspace for desktop, although LSEG Workspace web access is also available. Full disclosure: Datastream historical time series can be difficult to locate in either interface; see linked guide for more details.
Bloomberg
A dedicated computer for financial researchers who need real-time data, news and analytics to make smarter, faster, more informed business decisions. The Bloomberg terminal is located in the Parrish Library and can be used on a first-come, first-served basis during regular business hours unless a reservation has been made.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this search to aggregate information from Nexis Uni about companies. Choose "Company Dossier" from the menu at the top of the page to access the company search page.

Pew Internet Research - Datasets
Pew Research Center research internet use, especially among younger Americans.
Includes reports on online data. mobile shopping, health, etc

SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization of demographic variables, psychographic variables, and business locations. Map any area down to the US census block level. Add map data data variables and create custom reports. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and EASI customer data.
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and news articles: primarily advertising, marketing, financial services, and technology with particularly strong coverage of overlap topics like ecommerce, digital marketing, digital payments, mobile banking, etc.
Sage Data
- This link opens in a new window
A vast, multidisciplinary repository of standardized statistical datasets from more than 550 sources with over 2 billion data points including US and international government providers. For business research, includes consumer data from Claritas, Data Axle, and EASI plus Woods and Poole demographic and economic data projections through 2060.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic, lifestyle, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 US consumers.

U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau provides demographic data for the United States.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Commerce Dept. agency featuring statistics and analysis of U.S. economic conditions and trends including Gross Domestic Product (GDP)
Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Dept. of Labor statistical arm preparing statistics on employment and unemployment, workforce trends, consumer expenditures and prices, and wholesale prices. Great source for labor costs by industry.
Data.gov
UNData
CPI Detailed Report
County Business Patterns (also on CD-ROM)
C 3.204/4:
Economagic
Economic data sets

Federal Reserve
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank, this resources provides current and recent historical U.S. economic and financial data in categories such as; business/fiscal data, GDP, monthly commercial financial data, employment data, interest rates, and producer price indexes.

Data.World
Venture-based data company
Google Public Data Explorer
A lot of data we subscribe to elsewhere- just prettier
Pew Internet Research
Pew Research Center research internet use, especially among younger Americans. Includes reports on online data. mobile shopping, health, etc.
Google Dataset Search
A lot of public data, just more findable
Google Advanced Search
Limit by pdf, excel, ppt, etc
Databib
Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data.
Kaggle
Open data portal and hackathon with a variety of current trends and research topics.
STATS Indiana
STATS Indiana provides access to economic and demographic statistics for states, counties, cities and towns, townships, regions, census tracts and more.
IPEDS
International Postsecondary Education Data

ITaP Available Software for Students
Includes MATLAB, NVivo, SAS and other programs good for data analysis
Open Refine
Data cleaning option, open source
Regular Expressions
Tool to test regular expressions for text mining.
Qualtrics
Available to Purdue students, online survey making software
Software Available to Students in ITaP Labs
VACCINE
The Visual Analytics for Command, Control, and Interoperability Environments (VACCINE), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence, creates methods, tools, and applications to analyze and manage vast amounts of information for all mission areas of homeland security in the most efficient manner. (from website)
Open Data Tools - Visualization
A nice list of tools available for infoviz
Open Data Tools - Analysis
Good resources for some tools for scraping web pages and other data needs