Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Conducting Market Research
Market research involves finding and analyzing competitor information, demographics, and industry information. It is a combination of examining the existing products available to consumer and needs, expressed or unexpressed of the consumers themselves.
The databases and links available here will lead you to relevant, quality information. Further assistance is available by visiting the Reference Desk of the Parrish Management Management & Economics Library.
Identification and description of the customers
- Describe the potential customers
- Find statistics and demographic information
- Identify a target selling price
- Find similar products
- Identify a target sales quantity
- Determine how much it will cost to run your company and what the potential market will be
Customer and engineering requirements and target values
- Review recent research and federal regulations
Descriptions and analysis of competitive products and relevant patents
- Seek companies producing similar products
- Conduct effective patent research
BCC Market Research
BCC Research contains market research reports, industry reviews, newsletters and conferences for competitive business intelligence.
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
Frost and Sullivan
Direct access to Frost & Sullivan's business intelligence portfolio, providing practical industry insights and analysis with real-world statistics and research results. Provides the latest technology, company, econometric, demographic, and industry information. Industries covered include: Communication and IT, Transportation, Consumer Products, Healthcare, Environment and Energy, Aerospace and Defense, Electronics and Semiconductors, Chemicals, Materials and Food.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Information on over 700 US Industries in the US economy. Classifying Industry Reports at the 5-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), IBISWorld Industry Reports are at the granular level covering industry-specific titles from the popular to the not so popular. Each Industry Report is some 35-50 pages in length with abridged, 6-page Executive Summaries also available.
Contains comprehensive full-text market research reports with broad range of coverage on markets, industries, and companies worldwide.
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
Coverage: Most recent two years
Note: Personal registration is recommended to avoid cutoffs due to excessive downloading.
Offers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, market research, and company lists. Detailed industry reports, company profiles, and numerous statistics are available.
SimplyAnalytics enables users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data.
SimplyAnalytics SimplyAnalytics enables users to quickly create thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending (CEX), D&B business points-of-interest file, and marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI). Users have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 unique categories. Additionally, the EASI Life Stage Clusters classification system is available. Data is available at the State, Congressional District, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States.
MRI Simmons Insights MRI Simmons Insights, formerly known as Mediamark Reporter, provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 United States consumers.
U.S. Census Data
U.S. Census demographics: population, housing, economic and geographical data
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account
Offers several searchable database modules containing detailed information on more than 16 million U.S. businesses and employers; 89 million U.S. residents; 1.2 U.S. health care providers; 2.1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.
Financial statements, company news, industry analysis, historical information on M&A activity, country information, product and brand names, historical ratings, US executive biographies and compensation details, historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
LexisNexis Company Dossier
Use this search to aggregate information from Nexis Uni about companies. Choose "Company Dossier" from the menu at the top of the page to access the company search page.
A business and management database for articles on business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, company news and industry-specific topics worldwide. Find research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, as well as information on 60,000+ companies.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Business Source Complete
Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Business Information Triangle