Research Guides: ILS 230: Data Science &amp; Society: Ethical, Legal, Social Issues: Article Selection

Article Selection

Your group can select any peer-reviewed article that explores the impact or relationship between data science and your group’s assigned research topic.

A small group of peer-reviewed articles will be provided by the course instructor that may be used for the project. They can also be used as examples of appropriate articles, if your group would like to find a different article. Keep in mind that the sample articles also contain bibliographies, reference lists, and footnotes that can be used to find other articles of interest to your group.

You can use your own experiences or popular sources as starting points to identify articles of interest to your group. However, your group must select a peer-reviewed scholarly article as the basis for your research project.

In addition to general Google searching or using Google scholar to explore popular or scholarly sources, use the resources below for more targeted searching of resources, including those available through Purdue Libraries.

Popular Sources

Magazines

Wired
Popular Science

Blogs

News Sources

Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages. Updated daily.
ABI/INFORM - Focuses on local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.
Science Online - Full-text access to Science, First Release (the preprint version of Science, formerly called ScienceExpress), three virtual knowledge environments, Science Now, and other web sites. Coverage: Science available from 1997 - current

Reference Works - Have Helpful Bibliographies for Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in Your Area of Interest

Uncertain Archives by Nanna Bonde Thylstrup (Editor); Daniela Agostinho (Editor); Annie Ring (Editor); Catherine D'Ignazio (Editor); Kristin Veel (Editor)
ISBN: 9780262539883

Publication Date: 2021-02-02

Scholars from a range of disciplines interrogate terms relevant to critical studies of big data, from abuse and aggregate to visualization and vulnerability. This pathbreaking work offers an interdisciplinary perspective on big data, interrogating key terms. Scholars from a range of disciplines interrogate concepts relevant to critical studies of big data--arranged glossary style, from from abuse and aggregate to visualization and vulnerability--both challenging conventional usage of such often-used terms as prediction and objectivity and introducing such unfamiliar ones as overfitting and copynorm. The contributors include both leading researchers, including N. Katherine Hayles, Johanna Drucker and Lisa Gitelman, and such emerging agenda-setting scholars as Safiya Noble, Sarah T. Roberts and Nicole Starosielski.
Information by Paul Duguid (Editor); Anja-Silvia Goeing (Editor); Anthony Grafton (Editor); Ann Blair (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691209746

Publication Date: 2021-01-26

A landmark history that traces the creation, management, and sharing of information through six centuries. Thanks to modern technological advances, we now enjoy seemingly unlimited access to information. Yet how did information become so central to our everyday lives, and how did its processing and storage make our data-driven era possible? This volume is the first to consider these questions in comprehensive detail, tracing the global emergence of information practices, technologies, and more, from the premodern era to the present. With entries spanning archivists to algorithms and scribes to surveilling, this is the ultimate reference on how information has shaped and been shaped by societies.

Relevant Peer-Reviewed Journals - Browsing These is the Most Direct Way to Search for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Scholarly Databases - Best Bets for Finding and Accessing Peer-Reviewed Articles

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. This database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials in biological science; computer and information sciences; engineering; geography; and mathematics.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Anthropology Plus
Brings together two resources: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

-Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
-Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)
-Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present)
-Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
-Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
(Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
-Index Chemicus (1993-present)
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005 – present)