Research Guides: HSCI 201: Principles of Public Health Science: Important Databases

Getting Started

Looking for journal articles? Here are a few databases subscribed to by the Purdue Libraries. Most of them contain at least partial full-text. Look for the Find It @ Purdue Libraries icon to link to full-text available through Purdue's subscriptions to e-journals or other databases.

Medical Databases

PubMed
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at journal Web sites and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.

Social Science Databases

EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Economic research published over the past 130 years with citations to journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and more. Produced by the American Economic Association.
PAIS International
Bibliographic index with abstracts covering issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Coverage 1972-present.
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Multidisciplinary, Broad Coverage Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.

In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

-Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
-Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)
-Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present)
-Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
-Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
(Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
-Index Chemicus (1993-present)
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005 – present)