Black Lives Matter

From The Washington Post

From Campaign Zero
"The reports featured on this page provide information about existing policies in U.S. cities and the areas where new policies are needed to end police violence. Source information is included in the spreadsheets below each report. More reports will be released in the coming weeks covering a range of policy areas. Reports will be updated as more policies are passed and implemented."

"This information has been meticulously sourced from the three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net. We've also done extensive original research to further improve the quality and completeness of the data; searching social media, obituaries, criminal records databases, police reports and other sources to identify the race of 90 percent of all victims in the database."

"We believe the data represented on this site is the most comprehensive accounting of people killed by police since 2013. A recent report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics estimated approximately 1,200 people were killed by police between June, 2015 and May, 2016. Our database identified 1,106 people killed by police over this time period. While there are undoubtedly police killings that are not included in our database (namely, those that go unreported by the media), these estimates suggest that our database captures 92% of the total number of police killings that have occurred since 2013. We hope these data will be used to provide greater transparency and accountability for police departments as part of the ongoing campaign to end police violence in our communities."

"A closeup examination of the artist’s latest cover, in which the murder of George Floyd embodies the history of violence inflicted upon black people in America."
By The New Yorker
June 14, 2020

Click on each book to hear a read-aloud

From the author behind the bestselling Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race comes a podcast that takes the conversation a step further.

"On Pod Save the People, organizer and activist DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with fellow activists Brittany Packnett Cunningham and Sam Sinyangwe, and writer Dr. Clint Smith. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color."

"There’s also a weekly one-on-one interview with DeRay and special guests, from singer/songwriter John Legend to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi. The experts, influencers, and diverse local and national leaders who come on the show go deep on social, political, and cultural issues. New episodes every Tuesday."

"Emmy award-winning producer, actor and comedian Larry Wilmore discusses the issues of the week. He also hosts interviews with people working in entertainment, sports, politics and culture. In his two most recent episodes, Wilmore gives his thoughts about the killings of Ahmaud Arbery and George Floyd as well as racism in America."

"What's CODE SWITCH? It's the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on. We explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between. This podcast makes ALL OF US part of the conversation — because we're all part of the story."

"Step inside the confession booth of Wesley Morris and Jenna Wortham, two culture writers for The New York Times. They devour TV, movies, art, music and the internet to find the things that move them — to tears, awe and anger. Still Processing is where they try to understand the pleasures and pathologies of America in 2020."

"A freely available Black Lives Matter learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications."

"Digital platform Exact Editions has collaborated with a selection of publishing partners to create a brand new, freely-available Black Lives Matter learning resource. Featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications, the page can be accessed indefinitely on the Exact Editions website by individuals, schools and universities alike for reading, browsing and sharing as an educational tool."

"The selected articles are organised into 7 subject areas; ‘Activism’, ‘Art’, 'Film & Stage’, ‘History’, ‘Literature’, ‘Music’ and ‘Politics’. The content spans topics from civil rights, racial bias and protests to prominent historical figures, musical movements and literary analysis, all centered around the Black Lives Matter movements’ mission to bring justice, healing and freedom to Black people across the globe."

"From passionate pleas for reform to poetic turns of phrase, these talks take an honest look at everyday realities of Black Americans and illuminate the way forward."

"On any given night, more than 450,000 people in the United States are locked up in jail simply because they don't have enough money to pay bail. The sums in question are often around $500: easy for some to pay, impossible for others. This has real human consequences -- people lose jobs, homes and lives, and it drives racial disparities in the legal system. Robin Steinberg has a bold idea to change this. In this powerful talk, she outlines the plan for The Bail Project -- an unprecedented national revolving bail fund to fight mass incarceration."