Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Drug Information: Free Drug Information Resources

Drug information resources

Free resources

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry of currently enrolling, currently in process, and completed clinical trials in the United States; includes some international coverage. Some trials also include data from the trial, provided in tabular results or narrative results. Trials listed include trials of new drugs; behavioral interventions; comparative efficacy studies; trials for drugs for new indications; economic impact of drugs or procedures; and medical device trials. Can be searched or browsed by drug class or indication.

Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
Access to United States federal and state government-provided information on herbs and nutritional supplements. Information provided varies based on topic-- can include indications, research evidence to support or contradict health claims, traditional preparations, and potential interactions. About 60 herbs and supplements are included.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database (supported by the United States' National Library of Medicine) compiles the labeled ingredients for over 5,000 brands of supplements, allowing you to compare ingredients and amounts between brands. The site also provides links to authoritative information on many ingredients from the United States National Institutes of Health (NIH) and literature in PubMed. 

Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine - Quick Access to Quality Drug Information
This site is a true portal: search for a prescription, over-the-counter, herbal, or nutraceutical name and the site will provide links to additional information from a variety of United States-government-produced websites. Includes links to research articles, drug monographs, labels, and more. Can also be searched by drug category. 

DrugDigest
This commercial site can be searched or browsed by drug name; prescription, over-the-counter, herbals, and nutraceuticals are included. Provides basic consumer-level information on drugs culled from Gold Standard (Elsevier), United States government-supported sites, manufacturers, and nonprofit societies and groups.

Drugs.com | Prescription Drugs - Information, Interactions & Side Effects
This site provides professional-level and consumer-level information on prescription, over-the-counter, herbal, and nutraceutical drugs.Search or browse by drug name, drug class name, or conditions. Includes pill identifier and interactions checker. Sources of information include American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information (AHFS DI), United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Micromedex,and MedFacts.

Drugs@FDA
Browse or search for United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved prescription and over-the-counter drug products. Contents vary for each drug, but may include dates of original approval; approval history, letters, reviews, and related documents; therapeutic equivalents; risk evaluation and mitigation strategy (REMS); other important information related to postmarket drug safety; medication guides; and approved labels. 

Drugstore.com
This commercial website is aimed at consumers and includes very little reputable information about drugs. The highlight of this site is average prescription drug price calculations derived from data from the New York Department of Health's database of current prescription drug prices in the state of New York. 

Epocrates Online
Brief, professionally-focused monographs of frequently used prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Includes interactions checker. View information online or download onto a mobile device. Requires free registration to view or download.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements: MedlinePlus
This United States government-supported site is aimed at consumers and provides basic drug information on popular prescription and over-the-counter drugs and herbal and supplement preparations. Browse by generic or brand name (for prescription and over-the-counter drugs); browse by herb or supplement name. 

Medscape Reference: Drugs, Diseases & Procedures
Medscape Reference includes monographs for over-the-counter and prescription drugs, and a limited number of vitamins and herbal preparations. Includes a drug interaction checker. Requires free registration to view. 

PDR Health | Rx Drug Interactions, Side Effects | Official site of Physicians' Desk Reference
Explanations for the consumer about safe and effective use of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Can only be searched using brand names. Content is based on the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved drug information found in the Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR). Also contains disease and condition information for common ailments.

RxList - The Internet Drug Index for prescription drugs, medications and pill identifier

Offers detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs and popular vitamins and supplements. Written and updated by pharmacists and physicians; includes information from the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Both professional-level and patient-level information are provided. Also contains a pill identifier, dictionary, and overviews of diseases and conditions. The website is affiliated with WebMD and MedScape.

DailyMed

DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

 

Excerpted from PharmGuide: The Best Free Drug Information Resources