This is the "Home" page of the "A Guide for English 106 and 108 T.A.s: How to Implement Archives and Special Collections into Freshman Composition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Guide for English 106 and 108 T.A.s: How to Implement Archives and Special Collections into Freshman Composition   Tags: archives, arts_and_humanities, engl, english, english 106, english 108, literature, primary sources, research, writing  

Last Updated: Jun 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/english106/archives/specialcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

ASC entrance image

The Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections contains manuscripts, rare books, printed materials, photos, artifacts, and artwork ranging from a papyrus fragment to materials concerning Purdue History. We invite and encourage public, students, faculty, and researchers to use our collections, whether the purpose is for teaching, research, or pure curiosity. 

Website:

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/spcol/ 

Location:

We are located on the 4th floor of the HSSE Library in Stewart Center directly across from the elevator.

 

Acknowledgements

Images courtesy of the Aldous Huxley estate, Easton Press, Herbert Stone publishing, and Henry Altemus publishing.

 

Introduction

This guide is designed to provide information for English 106 and 108 T.A.s who want to implement archives and special collections into their classroom. Assignments and hand-outs, useful contacts in both the Purdue Archives and Special Collections and the English Department, along with helpful information on how to properly prepare yourselves and your students are all included in this guide. Collaboration between the T.A. and archivist as well as being well-versed in archival research at Purdue are two of the most important factors in successfully implementing archives and special collections into your classroom. This guide serves as a "how-to" that will take you step-by-step through the process of what you need to know in order to successfully and effectively implement archives and special collections into English 106 or 108.

This guide was originally created by Kristin Leaman; revised and maintained by Neal Harmeyer.

 

“Read the directions and directly you will be directed in the right direction.” From Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Wood engraving from Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Limited Editions Club, 1932. Illustrated by John Tenniel and engraved on wood by Bruno Rollitz. Purdue's copy is signed by the original Alice Hargreaves. From Purdue's Limited Editions Club Collection.

 

General Information

Fall and Spring hours:

10:00am - 4:30pm

Monday - Friday

Summer hours:

1:00pm - 4:30pm

Monday - Friday

Contact:

Email: spcoll@purdue.edu

Phone: 765-494-2839

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip