Skip to main content

Media Collection: Home

Our Media Collection

The Purdue Libraries media collection is located in the Humanities, Social Science, and Education Library (HSSE) on the second floor. It houses over 5,000 items of DVDs, VHS tapes, CDs, and other items. The media collection is directly adjacent to the Microforms Area. 

Media Scheduling

Media items in Purdue's media collection may be placed on a media scheduling hold by Purdue faculty and staff. Instructors can fill out the web form and request media items to be pulled and placed behind the HSSE circulation desk for retrieval. Follow the link below to fill out the form to request items. 

Our Digital Collection

In addition to the many of physical items in our media collection, Purdue also has an ever growing digital collection. Purdue Libraries have made increasing our digital streaming collection a priority with subscriptions to digital streaming media services such as Ambrose Digital and Kanopy. Follow the link below for more information. 

Media Viewing Space in HSSE

In HSSE library, we currently have several places to view media items. In addition to the ITaP computers on the first floor, all of which can play DVDs, we have four places on the second floor for individual and groups to view media items.

First and second floor media viewing spaces:

  • Group Study room 145- contains a media cart with a region free DVD player and VHS player, fits groups of up to eight people, available by reservation: http://calendar.lib.purdue.edu/
  • Group Study room 237- contains a media cart with a region free DVD player and VHS player; fits groups of up to five people
  • Media Viewing Space 3- located in the media area at the south end; one monitor and a DVD/VHS player; for individual use
  • Media Viewing Space 4- located in the media area at the south end; a monitor with embedded DVD player; for individual use 
  • Media Viewing Carrels 5-6- located right outside of room 242; a double sided carrel desk; each side contains a monitor with an embedded DVD player; for individual use

 

Be on the lookout for updates regarding increases to our media viewing space.  

MEDIA LIBRARIAN

John Fritch's picture
John Fritch
Contact:
HSSE Library-Rm 346

(765) 49-46735

Media Assistant

Patrick Whalen

HSSE Library

(765) 49-42835

 Email Me