Skip to main content

World War I Libraries Research Guide: Foreign Govt. & Military Documents

Provides access to scholarly resources on this topic including digital government and military documents from multiple countries.

Foreign Government and Military Documents

Many foreign and international government organizations produce documentary material on World War I which is freely accessible on the Internet.

Examples include:

Australia

Anzac Portal

Australian Army History Unit World War I

Australian Imperial Force (AIF) Project (Australian Anzacs in the Great War 1914-1918 Courtesy: University of New South Wales) 

Australia National Archives Military History

Andrew Fisher (Prime Minister) Papers-National Archives of Australia

William Morris Hughes (Prime Minister) Papers-National Archives of Australia

Australian War Memorial First World War Centenary
Official Histories World War I

Gallipoli and the Anzacs (Courtesy:  Australia Dept. of Veterans Affairs)

Gallipoli 2015

Official Yearbook of the Commonwealth of Australia

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard)

Austria

National Archives

Bulgaria
National Library Historical Archive Collection

Canada

Canada Yearbook

Canadian War Museum Canada and the First World War

Dept. of National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces

  First World War Official Histories

Library and Archives Canada Military and Peacekeeping

Parliament

Parliament House of Commons Debates (Hansard)

Robert Borden Biography (Dictionary of Canadian Biography-Canada's Prime Minister During WWI)

Robert Borden Papers Finding Aid (University of Toronto Library)

War Museum

France

Arc de Triomphe

Armistice Museum (Compiegne, France)

Army Museum

Defense Ministry Historical Archives

National Archives

National Maritime Museum

Official Bulletin Ministry of War (1914-1916)

(In French)

Official Journal 
(In French-Contains government policy announcements)

Germany

Bundeswehr (Military)

Germany Foreign Office (Most in German)

German Historical Museum

National Archives

  Military Archives (in German)

Statistical Yearbook (In German)

 Hungary

National Archives Holdings Descriptions

Inter-Allied Rhineland High Commission 1918-1930

Inter-Allied Rhineland High Commission 

Italy
Central State Archives

Foreign Ministry Diplomatic History Archive

Navy Historical Office


League of Nations

Statistical and Disarmament Documents (Courtesy:  Northwestern University Library)

New Zealand

New Zealand and the First World War (Produced by New Zealand Ministry for Culture & Heritage)
New Zealand National Archives

New Zealand National War Memorial

New Zealand Official Year Book

William Massey (Prime Minister) Biography

Romania
National Archives

Russia
Russian Federation State Archives

Serbia
National Archives

United Kingdom

Annual Abstract of Statistics

British Library World War I

Imperial War Museum 1st World War Centenary

National Archives

Cabinet Papers 1915-1984

Herbert Henry Asquith Papers Finding Aid (Prime Minister 1908-1916 Courtesy:   Bodleian Library Oxford University)

David Lloyd George Papers Finding Aid (Prime Minister 1916-1922 Courtesy:  British National Archives & Other Locations)

David Lloyd George 2006 BBC4 Documentary

National Army Museum

National Museum of the Royal Navy

Oxford University World War I Centenary

Parliament

Hansard Parliamentary Debates 1803-2004

Royal Air Force Museum

Scotland National War Museum


Measuring Worth (Non-governmental dataset calculator documenting purchasing power of various currencies including U.S. dollar, British pound, and Australian dollar.)

 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007