Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Databases - HSSE Library
Welcome to the Humanities, Social Science, and Education (HSSE) Library Featured Databases tutorials. With access to a collection of over 600 databases, finding the best resource and understanding how to navigate that resource can be hard. Our goal with these tutorials is to highlight the various resources available through the Purdue Libraries and School of Information Studies and to give you additional tools to help with your research. Tutorial will be released on the fourth Thursday of every month, with the exception of December and May. They will give a very brief introduction to the basic features of one of our specialized subscription databases. These database selections will cover a wide array of disciplines in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Bibliographic database sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier source for education-related research, documents, and journal articles. Access via the EBSCO interface will link to full-text articles.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.
Full-text digital archive of over 2600 scholarly journals, especially strong in Social Sciences, Humanities, Economics, and Mathematics.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Coverage varies according to journal -- some dating back to 1966. Media studies, mass communication, journalism, personal and interpersonal, rhetoric are included.
Provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 4,000 U.S. and international titles—from 100 countries in 60 languages.
The most complete collection of full-text education journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing
Oxford Music Online
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Exclusive issues-based documentary films focusing on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more, from leading film producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Provides access to historic and recent U.S. Government publications from 1789-1969 on including U.S. Congressional Serial Set documents, federal agency reports, congressional committee publications including reports on legislation, statistics, maps, and congressional debates. Coverage includes Congressional Record and predecessor publication debates from 1789-1997 and Executive branch agency publications not included in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1932.
Dissertations and Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Humanities Full Text
This database includes many of the most important academic journal in the Humanities, with full-text articles from over 300 titles. It also features interviews, bibliographies, and original works, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, and many other programs.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century., including: the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.