According to ASME: A standard is " a set of technical definitions and guidelines, “how to” instructions for designers, manufacturers, and users. Standards promote safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in almost every industry that relies on engineering components or equipment."
Compliance with standards in the design process is voluntary, however, it may become mandatory if written into contractual business obligations and/or written into law or regulations.
Search for Standards:
Engineering WorkbenchThis link opens in a new windowEngineering Workbench indexes national and international standards. Purdue Libraries' access features online full-text standards from the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and selected single standards from other standards developing organizations. Titles included in the My Subscription filter are available full-text. ICAO standards include access to redline versions.
NOTE: Some pdfs are secured documents protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management). These documents require a third party software (Plug-in) to be downloaded for viewing. The plugin will remain in your machine unless you reformat your machine or remove it. If you remove it, you will need to reinstall it again for the document to be viewed. To download Plug-in: http://plugin.fileopen.com
NOTE: ASTM standards are no longer available through this platform. See the database ASTM Compass for ASTM standards access.
NOTE: AASHTO, selected ACI, selected BS, ANS, ASHRAE, selected ASME, AHAM, ICC, selected ISO, and NFPA standards are now available to Purdue users through TechStreet Enterprise. See Techstreet Enterprise entry for access information.
Techstreet EnterpriseThis link opens in a new windowOUTAGE: Purdue University Libraries has received reports as of 9/17/24 about its subscription to the TechStreet database being inaccessible and this issue has been reported to the vendor.
Provides access to one of the world's largest collections of industry codes and standards, plus web-based workflow tools. The Purdue Libraries subscription currently includes the following collections:
AASHTO
ACI (ACI 318, others available upon request)
AHAM
ANS
ASHRAE
ASME (including BPVC)
BSI (selected)
ICC
ISO (selected)
NFPA (Fire)
This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Some pdf documents are secured and protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management). These documents require a third party software (Plug-in) to be downloaded for viewing documents. The plugin will remain in your machine unless you reformat your machine or remove it. If you remove it, you will need to reinstall it again for the document to be viewed. To download Plug-in: http://plugin.fileopen.com
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)Engineering Village is the information discovery platform to search across both Compendex and INSPEC databases.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Database of Print Standards -- Purdue UniversityThis link opens in a new windowThis database searches the title, standard number, and standards developing organization of the Purdue Libraries print standards collection.
Most of the BSI standards in this collection were published before 1985 and are housed in HKRP, a closed repository. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items from this collection (1-2 day delivery time). https://www.lib.purdue.edu/services/interlibrary-loan
More information on Purdue Libraries Standards collections: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/standards
For assistance please contact the Library of Engineering and Science at 765-494-2872; engsclib@purdue.edu.
SAE Mobilus (was SAE Digital Library)References thousands of technical papers, scholarly articles, and standards covering the latest advances in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Standards include SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications (AMS), Aerospace Standards (AS), and Ground Vehicle Standards (J and USCAR Reports). Includes detailed summaries and complete SAE Technical Reports in PDF for 1906-present. Full text scholarly journal coverage from 1998-present.
Coverage: 1906-present
ASTM CompassA vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Provides access to active standards, as well as historical standards (2000-present).
**Please click on 'Yes, I Agree With the License' to access database**
NOTE FOR OFF-CAMPUS USERS: Your browser must accept third party cookies for this resource to work properly. Some browsers block third party cookies by default. Users must manually change the setting to allow third party cookies to be accepted.
IEEE XploreIEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
This link opens in a new window