Research Guides: EAPS 375: Fossil Fuels, Energy and Society: Step 3: Choose a Database

How to Use Databases

Google type search interface with facets to narrow search.
Provides in-depth, efficient, subject specific searching.
Includes academic, scholarly journals, some of which Purdue does not subscribe to.
Results are highly targeted to discipline.
A good place to continue a search after you have figured out useful keywords.
A good place to go when you want a quick, accurate search.
Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button.

Academic Search Complete
General search with newspapers and magazines, and fulltext of scholarly journal articles.
GeoRef
GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and grows by more than 70,000 references a year. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
GreenFILE
Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Abstracts of interdisciplinary and subject specific scholarly journal articles with links to full text or interlibrary loan.

ABI/INFORM Global
A comprehensive business database covering the broadest range of business topics for both academic researchers and professionals in the workplace. In addition to thousands of scholarly journals, includes full articles from The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Trade and industry-specific publications that cover trends, product launches, and other key contexts. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.
EconLit
Economic research published over the past 130 years with citations to journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and more. Produced by the American Economic Association.

Plunkett Research
Contains an Energy & Utilities Industry Research Center that contains market overview and relevant companies.
OECD iLibrary
Contains numerous reports on global petroleum initiatives.

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management
FECM is responsible for Federal research, development, and demonstration efforts on advancing technologies to meet our climate goals and minimize the environmental impacts of fossil fuel use, including low carbon power generation and low carbon supply chains; carbon capture and storage (CCS) technologies; methane emissions reductions; critical mineral productions; and carbon dioxide removal. It also manages the Nation's Strategic Petroleum Reserve, an emergency response tool to protect Americans from energy supply disruptions.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Energy Department statistical branch documenting energy sector economic activity.
U.S. Energy Information Administration Country Reports
U.S. Geological Survey Energy Resources Program
The Energy Resources Program conducts research and assessments to advance the understanding of the Nation's energy resources.