Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Publication and Preservation?
Data publication is the process of preparing and disseminating research findings to the scientific community. Data preservation includes the actions and procedures required to keep datasets for a period of time and includes data archiving and/or submission to a data repository.
Resources on Publication and Preservation
Decide What to Preserve
Researchers should consider all elements of the scientific process in deciding what to preserve. DataONE presents these best practices on deciding what to preserve.
PURR Digital Preservation Policy
The PURR Digital Preservation Policy describes how Purdue University will support sustainable access to digital data sets and related content deposited into PURR.
Copyright, Privacy, and Confidentiality
The DMPTool provides guidance on assessing these issues and can help in making decisions about sharing research data.
Why Should You Publish and Preserve Your Data?
Publishing and preserving your data allows further access to your datasets and is recognized as good practices by researchers and institutions. Datasets can be published as scholarly products, either linked to journal articles or as a standalone data object with scholarly value. When published with a digital object identifier (DOI), datasets can be easily discovered and cited in other reserchers' work, increasing the value and impact of your research, as well as ensure research integrity.
There are times that it might not be possible to publish data; however, it is still important to preserve and archive your data for long-term access.
Guidelines for Data Publication and Preservation
When preparing data for publication and preservation, it is important to take some things in consideration:
- File formats for long term access: The file format in which you save your data will influence the ability to share and re-use your data. You will need to plan for both hardware and software obsolescence. Save datasets in open, documented formats, when possible, to ensure long-term preservation.
- Metadata standards: Metadata is a standardized way of organizing data and provides context to data, including the who, what, where, when of data creation and methods of use, and provides the means for discovery, including a bibliographic citation, and reuse.
- Copyright, privacy, and confidentiality: It is important to establish ownership of the data before you preserve and publish. There are also ethical concerns surrounding data and it is important to maintain the confidentiality of research subjects. Purdue University participates in the Collaborative IRB Training Initiative (CITI). Make sure you have considered the implications of sharing data.
- Publisher and funder requirements: Some publishers and funders have specific requirements for long-term access to research data. It is important to understand the requirements prior to publication.
- Repositories: There are subject-specific and institutional repositories available for the depositing and publishing of data. Tools such as Databib can help you identify appropriate places to archive or publish.