The Geographic Names Server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes. We are starting to hold the native script spellings of these names. All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality. The database can be used for a variety of purposes, including establishing official spellings of foreign place names, cartography, GIS, GEOINT, and finding places.
Structure vocabulary containing more than one million names and other information about places. The primary users of the Getty vocabularies include museums, art libraries, archives, visual resource collection catalogers, bibliographic projects concerned with art, researchers in art and art history, and the information specialists who are dealing with the needs of these users.
This website contains current information on the geologic names that have been adopted and are used by the Indiana Geological Survey (IGS). The site is intended to provide Web-based access to IGS geologic nomenclature to a broad spectrum of users from academia, industry, government, and the general public. The Web site allows users to access information about specific units by entering a formal stratigraphic name, abandoned name, or miscellaneous unofficial name. Options to select units by specifying system and stratigraphic rank allow users to retrieve data for more than one unit and view the data in alphabetic or approximate stratigraphic order.
The Geolex database contains 16,072 entries. 75% of the unit names from the USGS Geologic Names Committee (GNC) card catalog have been entered in the database. Several thousand unit names remain to be checked and entered.