Research Guides: ChE 435: Chemical Engineering Laboratory: Handbooks, Data and Properties

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

Purdue has access to Perry's on two different ebook platforms. Depending on your preference, you can use either. Both sites contain the contents of the entire 8th edition.

Knovel

Knovel Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.

Knovel has e-books in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, including Plant Design and Operation and data on many chemical properties of compounds. Knovel also contains interactive graphs and diagrams. Hint: Simply search for the name of the compound and the property you are looking for, such as benzene and "boiling point." Notable titles include:

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE (search the entire collection)

CRCnetBASE is a collection similar to Knovel, that has titles related to chemistry and chemical engineering. It also contains a number of handbooks related to data on polymers. You can search across the entire collection or connect directly to specific titles of interest below:

Chemical Kinetics

Kinetics data is difficult to find because each set of reaction conditions is unique. Searching the literature is a good way to find this data, otherwise there area a few databases that might help.

IUPAC Gas Kinetic Data Database
"This website provides kinetic and photochemical data evaluated by the IUPAC Subcommittee for Gas Kinetic Data Evaluation."
NDRL/NIST Solution Kinetics Database
Data for free radical processes involving primary radicals from water, inorganic radicals and carbon-centered radicals in solution, and singlet oxygen and organic peroxyl radicals in various solvents.
NIST Kinetics Database
For "thermal gas-phase chemical reactions"; contains 11,700 distinct reactant pairs.

Other Resources for Chemical and Thermophysical Properties

These are other individual titles you might consider consulting if Knovel and CRCnetBASE do not have what you need. There are also a number of print resources within the Library of Engineering & Science that you might find useful.

The NIST-JANAF tables are located in the Print Repositories (Closed - Request).

The DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series.

DIPPR
DIPPR is a renowned source of Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design.
NIST/TRC Web Thermo Tables
Provides online access to the"TRC Thermodynamic Tables - Hydrocarbons" and "TRC Thermodynamic Tables - Non-Hydrocarbons". Almost 900,000 data points for over 7,700 compounds are provided, including thermodynamic data such as critical properties, heat capacities, vapor pressures and more.

Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD)
TPMD contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. [Click LOGIN at the top right to begin.]

Find Properties Fast

CHEMnetBASE
Includes access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics as well as a number of other resources with physical and chemical property data, including properties for natural products and drugs. Not only can you search within the CRC Handbook, but you have access to the following sources as well: Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database , and Properties of Organic Compounds
ChemSpider
After you search, scroll down to the "Properties" section. Contains predicted and experimental properties.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Corresponding to the latest print edition, this resource allows searching and browsing of the numerous tables and data found in the print handbook. Can search by full-text, by chemical substance, or by a number of chemical properties. Interactive tables allow exporting of data to Microsoft Excel.
Knovel
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.

Comprehensive Guide to Chemical and Physical Properties

Another LibGuide devoted to sources for Chemical and Physical Data. It is continually being updated and contains additional links not found in this LibGuide.

Chemical and Physical Properties