Research Guides: Comparative Literature: Comparative Literature

Primary Databases

Comparative Literature is interdisciplinary, exploring the interrelations between national languages and literatures as well as the relationship of literature to other disciplines. The following focus on languages and literatures as such.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Other databases

The following is an eclectic selection of databases whose usefulness depends upon the focus of your project. Others may be found in other subject guides, English or Foreign Languages and Literatures for example.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) History E-Book (HEB) Project provides searchable full-text of over 800 books in several fields of history. These are frequently cited works of major importance to historical studies.
Année philologique
International index of scholarship in classical studies covering journal articles and book chapters on ancient Greek and Roman worlds. Records can be searched by ancient author, modern author, title words, subjects and disciplines, including archaeology, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, science and technology. Records often contain a brief abstract and links to related records. Earlier printed volumes (1924 to 2001), which include a key to abbreviations, are available in HSSE Reference [016.4 An74].