Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is okay to start looking for information using Google (or internet search engine of your choice). However, using Google Scholar can help you poinpoint more scholarly information. An added benefit to using Google Scholar is that it provides links to full text articles provided by the Purdue Libraries.
If you are off campus, you can edit the Library Links in Scholar Preferences so Google Scholar will continue to highlight the full text that is available through the Purdue Libraries.
- Go to scholar.google.com
- Click on the Settings wheel at the top of the page
- Click Library Links on the left side of the page
- Select Purdue University - Full Text at Purdue and Purdue University Libraries - Full Text at Purdue.
If you are expected to do a comprehensive literature search, you should consider using some of the scholarly databases provided by the Purdue Libraries.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This index provides access to citations and abstracts of books and book chapters, dissertations, and articles culled from over 1300 scholarly journals in the fields of linguistic research, language research, and research in the areas of speech, hearing, and language pathology. Coverage is 1973 to present.
PubMed Created by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane Library Reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases including: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).
ERIC (EBSCO interface) (Educational Resources Information Center): This bibliographic database, sponsored by the US Department of Education, is the premier source for education-related research, documents, and journal articles.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations. Provides the latest perspectives on topics of widespread concern such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, epidemics - and countless other phenomena having the potential to threaten the public, the environment, or the workplace itself - are reported here. Coverage: over 1350 journals.
PsycINFO This database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, neuroscience, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to dissertations and journals (1,300 ).
Web of Science: All Databases Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Collectively, these indexes cover 8,700 scholarly and technical journals completely and 13,300 selectively, in more than 230 disciplines. The gateway allows searching the indexes singly or in combination. Features include cited reference searching, access to records related to a particular article, and number of times an article has been cited. Coverage extends back to 1977.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) supports the instructional, research, and scholarly activities of currently employed or enrolled West Lafayette faculty, staff, and students by obtaining research material not owned by the Purdue University Libraries. To request journal articles or other materials, go to the ILL page, click on the green button that says ILLIAD, and fill in the required information about yourself and the requested material.