Research Guides: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month: Websites/Other Resources

Websites/Other Resouces

Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center
The AAARCC brings Asian and Asian American experiences to life through programming, networking, and advocacy efforts that are focused on enriching the Purdue experience for all members of our campus community. Our center is open to people of all identities and interests.
Asian American Studies LibGuide
This guide provides an overview of resources and important topics in Asian American Studies research.
Asian Studies - Purdue
Asian studies brings together an interdisciplinary group of faculty, staff, and students devoted to the study of China, Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia, and South Asia. The major combines the study of an Asian language (Chinese or Japanese) and non-language courses in literature, history, philosophy, political science, sociology, and art history.
Chinese Studies
The Chinese Studies major offers academically rigorous courses in Chinese language, history, literature, culture, religion, and film studies. Students acquire the general literacy and appreciation of the richness and variety of traditional and modern Chinese Studies in its broadest sense.
Global Studies - Purdue
A Global Studies education focuses on key issues in today's globalized world. Global Studies students are not simply given the tools to understand the processes of globalization and their consequences, they are also encouraged and empowered to intervene in those processes and shape their world. In global studies, students have faculty from interdisciplinary backgrounds who are training the next generation of global leaders in education, business, government, and social justice work.
Japanese - Purdue
The Japanese major includes courses in language, literature, and linguistics. Japanese students are engaged in and outside the classroom, including weekly Japanese Conversation Hours. Study abroad is an important part of a Japanese education.
Journal of the Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement
The Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement is an on-line and free open access interdisciplinary journal providing a forum for scholars and writers from diverse fields who share a common interest in Southeast Asian (SEA) Americans and their communities.

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The contents of this site highlight only a small portion of the physical and digital holdings of the participating partners.
Library of Congress - Annexation of Hawaii
he United States annexed Hawaii in 1898 at the urging of President William McKinley. This guide provides access to material related to the “Annexation of Hawaii” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
Library of Congress - Asian American and Pacific Islander Materials
This guide serves as a point of entry for researchers seeking materials in multiple formats on Asian American/Pacific Islander studies and related resources at the Library of Congress. The types of resources covered in this guide range from special collections containing photographs, diary entries, and recorded interviews to monographs, reference works, and serials.
Library of Congress - Hawaii State Resource Guide
This guides provides access to digital materials related to the state of Hawaii at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.
National Park Service - Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage
Asian and Pacific Islander people play a profoundly important role in American history. Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) history and heritage include experiences of people with cultural, religious, and linguistic traditions from India, China, Japan, Korea, the Philippines, Vietnam, Hawai’i, Samoa, Tonga, among other nations from Asia and the Pacific Islands.
USDA - Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month
USDA is proud to join the nation in recognizing the Asian American and Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander (AANHPI) Heritage Month, also known as Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month (AAPI). Observed annually in May, AANHPI Heritage Month is a time to reflect upon and celebrate the remarkable role of the AANHPI community in our nation’s history.

ASCEND
We support, develop, and empower Pan-Asians throughout their careers with a network for growth and advancement that enables our members to serve our vibrant communities to the best of their abilities.
The Asian American Foundation
Founded in response to the rise in anti-Asian hate and violence, TAAF is reversing the longstanding under-investment in our community and addressing the root causes of hate and discrimination.
Asian American Psychological Association
The Asian American Psychological Association (AAPA) was founded in December 1972 by a group of Asian American psychologists and other mental health professionals in the San Fancisco Bay Area. With the leadership of Dr. Derald Sue (AAPA’s first President) and Dr. Stanley Sue, the first core group was formed and included educators, social workers, master’s level psychologists and other mental health professionals.
Asian Americans Advancing Justice
Since 1991, Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC has fought for Asian Americans in the national conversations that determine policies that shape our lives.
Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association
The Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association (APAMSA) is a national organization of medical and pre-medical students committed to addressing the unique health challenges of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, & Pacific Islander (AANHPI) communities.
Association for Asian American Studies
Founded in 1979, the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS) is the primary research and teaching hub for Asian American Studies, an interdisciplinary field born out of the 1960s movements for racial justice, third world liberation, and student activism.
Chinese Historical Society of America
Founded in 1963, the Chinese Historical Society of America (CHSA) promotes the contributions and legacy of the Chinese in America through its exhibitions, publications, and educational and public programs in the Museum and Learning Center.
Council of Korean Americans
The Council of Korean Americans (CKA) is a national nonprofit organization. Our mission is to advance the national voice and influence of the Korean American community.
Filipino American National Historical Society
The purposes of the Filipino American National Historical Society are to conduct research and studies; gather, promote, and disseminate published works on Filipino American history; provide a repository for research and gathered materials; create exhibits; promote and hold forums and public programs; and sponsor fundraising events to accomplish these purposes.
National Council of Asian Pacific Americans
The National Council of Asian Pacific Americans (NCAPA), founded in 1996, is a coalition of 41 national Asian Pacific American organizations around the country. Based in Washington D.C., NCAPA serves to represent the interests of the greater Asian American (AA) and Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities and to provide a national voice for AA and NHPI issues.
National Japanese American Historical Society
This organization dedicated to the collection, preservation, authentic interpretation, and sharing of historical information of the Japanese American experience. NJAHS plays a significant role in the health and vibrancy of San Francisco’s Japantown and its programs. Our work includes ground-breaking exhibitions and educational events for the public, historical research, and development of educational resources for teachers and students.

National Museum of American History - Asian Pacific American History
Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders can trace their histories to a region that spans more than half the globe. This site explores the rich and complex histories of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders through NMAH's collections, exhibitions, archives, and scholarly research.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Japanese American Relocation
After the Japanese Imperial Navy attacked US forces at Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, bringing the United States into World War II, fear of espionage or sabotage by people of Japanese ancestry gripped the country. In the aftermath of the attack, the US government relocated approximately 120,000 people of Japanese descent—mostly American citizens—from their West Coast homes to “relocation centers” in remote areas of the country.

AAPI Nexus Journal
ublished by UCLA’s Asian American Studies Center Press, AAPI Nexus is a national journal focusing on policies, practices and community research to benefit the nation’s burgeoning Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.
China Daily
Korea Times - English
The Times of India