Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Covering primarily the 1950s and 1960s, Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements provides access to primary source documents that focus on how ordinary citizens in the smaller communities viewed, participated in and lived through this historical era. When completed in 2025, the collection will include letters, general correspondence, logs, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meetings, worship services, photographs, newsletters, news reels, interviews and musical recordings from Black, Latine, Native American and Asian American Pacific Islander communities.

The most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings and chapters in edited volumes with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.

Coverage: 1971 – current.

Containing manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives: China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Includes rare documents from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia covering the period 1750-1929, including addresses and speeches, annual reports, assessments, catalogues, essays, examinations, guides and manuals, inquiries and studies, journals, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, minutes of meetings, notes, and records.

Three CNKI databases in the Chinese language feature full-text articles in the fields of history, literature, and philosophy, including subtopics such as archaeology, the arts, biography, folklore, language, psychology, religion, and sports: 1) China Academic Journals (CAJ), current year and an archive back to 1994; 2) China Dissertations and Master's Theses (CDMD), current year and an archive back to 2000; 3) China Conference Proceedings (CPCD), current year and an archive back to 2000.

NOTE: In order to download PDFs you must first click on the document you wish to view, then select the PDF button from the new screen. If you are asked to sign in choose the IP address option.

Collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London, which includes documents about British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent from 1599 to 1947. These documents include royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions.

Contains British diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, statistical analyses, published pamphlets, ephemera, military papers, profiles of prominent individuals, maps and many other types of documents sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. Full-text search is available across all documents.

Covers independence and partition; the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa; war between India and Pakistan; tensions and war between India and China; the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India; military rule in Pakistan; the turbulent independence of Bangladesh; and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

Primary source documents from the British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.

Foreign Office Files covering Southeast Asia between 1963 and 1980 in a time of conflict, growth and change. Covers the establishment of an independent Malaysia in 1963, following the release of the Cobbold Commission Report and the escalation of hostilities between Malaysia and Indonesia, which opposed the independence of Malaysia. Indonesia itself would experience growing civil unrest in this period, with anti-Communist sentiments on the rise.

Information from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland about the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.

Access to the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history. Morse was invited to teach at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and traveled extensively in Japan, recording his experiences in great detail and maintaining a deep interest in the country and its culture for the remainder of his life. Morse's papers provides insights into Japan during the Mejii Era (1868-1912) along with Morse's numerous and valuable contributions to a wide range of academic disciplines.

Charts the emigration experience of millions during the nineteenth and early twentieth century, including information about the New Zealand Company and British, European, and Asian migration. Includes primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature, and organizational papers.

Text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It includes English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and can be used to support research in literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.

Text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It includes English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and can be used to support research in literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.