Question: How might we move people farther, faster, cheaper, and more efficiently?
Best bet resources: TRID; Purdue Joint Transportation Research Project reports; Transportation Technical Assistance Coordination Library;
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources and is operated by Bielefeld University Library. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes data from repository servers that use use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE provides more than 36 million documents from more than 2,200 sources. You can access full text for about 75% of the indexed documents.
Free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
A growing collection of several million scanned books, journals, and other digital resources, comparable to Google Books. Benefits include full-text and advanced bibliographic search capabilities, and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain (26% of the collection).
HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 50 major research libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. It ingests digital content from its partner institutions as well as from Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. In some cases, books that are only available in snippet view through Google Books are full text at HathiTrust, which is actively investigating the copyright status of works published up to 1964. Hathi (pronounced HAH-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, a symbol of memory, wisdom, and strength.
The Open Research Library is a hosting platform initiated and maintained by Knowledge Unlatched and BiblioLabs. It makes freely accessible scientific book publications, as well as other high-quality academic Open Access content, available to anyone for free use anywhere in the world.
ORL provides free access to a comprehensive collection of thousands of scholarly monographs, anthologies, journals, videos, posters and other formats.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents.
Allows user to find information on a specific construction product or manufacturer. Provides a searchable collection of information on building materials based on manufacturer's catalogs. Arranged in 16 building trades divisions, the directory of construction may be searched by state and city, name of company and business type.
Provides a sustainable methodology and platform for access and findability of coordination resources across a diverse range of transportation technical assistance centers and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).
From the dominant big green books of the Thomas Register to today, when the Thomas Network at Thomasnet.com is the go-to resource for product sourcing and supplier selection, our singular focus has been on helping to fuel the success of industry.
This Web page portal lists over 1,600 technical reports published as part of the JHRP, and subsequently JTRP, collaborative venture between Purdue University and the Indiana Department of Transportation. Additional details regarding the history of JHRP, as well as current activities of the JTRP program, can be found by clicking on the respective hyperlinks.
Index Databases (Look up Citations to request through Interlibrary Loan)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Economic Census. Includes Economy-Wide Key Statistics, Industry Statistics, Establishment and Firm Size Statistics, Miscellaneous Subjects Statistics and Annual Survey of Manufacturers. Also Geographic Area Series, Merchandise, Commodity, Receipt, and Revenue Lines Statistics.
Published every five years for years ending in 2 and 7.
Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps. The geoportal's records have been aggregated from repositories located in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. This site is solely an aggregator and does not host any data.
Resource covering the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. Produced by the Commerce Department’s Bureau of Economic Analysis, it covers topics such as gross domestic product (GDP) by state, state and local area personal income, and facilitates analyzing state and local economies.
U.S. Census Bureau database containing Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. Provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level. Includes state and U.S. individual U.S. ports import and export data.
Get the latest and most up-to-date tourism statistics for all the countries and regions around the world. Data on inbound, domestic and outbound tourism is available, as well as on tourism industries, employment and complementary indicators. Besides the convenient access by alphabetical or geographical selection, the Tourism Statistics section offers a multiple country search as well as other additional data sets. All statistical tables available are displayed and can be accessed individually.
This web portal is a searchable, indexed database, that contains all guidance documents issued by DOT and its nine operating administrations that are in effect today. The guidance documents contained herein lack the force and effect of law, unless expressly authorized by statute or incorporated into a contract. DOT may not cite, use, or rely on any guidance that is not available through this guidance portal, except to establish historical facts.
Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
60,000 multi-disciplinary books. Look here for benchmarking, business, economics, marketing, college readiness, and if you are curious about a topic and just want to learn. Serendipity may be on your side in this database.
Human impact on the environment through scholarly, government and general interest titles. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,000 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.