Research Guides: AGEC 296: Selected Topics in Agricultural Economics: Home

Evaluating Economic Information

Helpful Resources

Websites

FactCheck.org
"We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania."
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking website created by the Tampa Bay Times newspaper to sort out the truth in American politics. It rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
PunditFact
PunditFact is a project of the Poynter Institute, dedicated to checking the accuracy of claims by pundits, columnists, bloggers, political analysts, the hosts and guests of talk shows, and other members of the media.
Washington Post Fact Checker
Fact checking website focusing on political stories.
Snopes
"Snopes got its start in 1994, investigating urban legends, hoaxes, and folklore. Founder David Mikkelson, later joined by his wife, was publishing online before most people were connected to the internet. As demand for reliable fact checks grew, so did Snopes. Now it’s the oldest and largest fact-checking site online, widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and readers as an invaluable research companion."

Library Resources

ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates industry reports, economic information, and consumer information by region and country with global coverage.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Exploring issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, this collection provides 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, as well as more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Updated daily,

Note: Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, the resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, and populations. Updated daily.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher explores a single, current issue in the news each week on topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science and technology.
Forty-four reports are produced each year, with four expanded reports. Each 12,000-word report features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of the issue. Charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts complete each report.
CQ Congress Collection
CQ Congress Collection is a dynamic research and reference tool allowing historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to top national and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, newswires, business journals, and a limited number of market research reports. Updated daily.