Research Guides: Physics: Home

Physics Reference Sources

Springer E-Books
Contains full-text of books/book chapters, conference papers, and journal articles published by Springer. Purdue University Libraries' subscription to e-books starts in 2005 and covers many disciplines.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Corresponding to the latest print edition, this resource allows searching and browsing of the numerous tables and data found in the print handbook. Can search by full-text, by chemical substance, or by a number of chemical properties. Interactive tables allow exporting of data to Microsoft Excel.
Knovel
Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.

INSPEC
Inspec® is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Compendex
Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Web of Science: All Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective
Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of industrial and mechanical arts, including aeronautics and space science, chemistry, computer technology, construction, engineering, and physics. Partial full-text coverage is available.

Preprints Servers: including arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,044,869 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics
ADS: Astrophysical Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
DoE Data Explorer
The DOE Data Explorer (DDE) is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI) search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department.
SciFinder Scholar: Chemistry Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar is a means of accessing the Chemical Abstracts database using a powerful and intuitive search engine to find references to articles easily. Search for chemical data using a molecular formula, chemical name, chemical structure, reaction components, author name, or topic of interest.

Physics
APS current awareness publication. Contains Viewpoints, Synopses, and Focus articles of varying lengths and level of technical depth.
Physics Today Update
Brief synopses of new and interesting research achievements in physics