This is the "Citation Management Basics" page of the "Citation Management at Purdue" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Management at Purdue   Tags: citation_management, endnote, endnote_web, zotero  

This guide highlights the unique features of citation management software, also known as citation managers.
Last Updated: May 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/citation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citation Management Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

 

EndNote and EndNote Web Contact Librarians

Maribeth
Slebodnik

 Agriculture, Life 
 Sciences, 
VetMed,
 Pharmacy, 
Nursing,
 Foods & Nutrition
Robert
Freeman
 Liberal Arts
Judy
Nixon
 CDFS, Education
Hal
Kirkwood
 Management, Economics 
 Ag Econ, HTM, CSR
Amy
Van Epps
 Science, Engineering,
 Technology
Michael Witt  Discovery Park
 

  Zotero Contact Librarians

Michael
Witt
 All Purdue
 Departments
Amy
Van Epps
 All Purdue
 Departments
 

Tips for Citing Sources (from MIT Libraries)

<Click on the four-arrow icon to view file with full screen.>

 

Introduction to Citation Managers

Citation management software, also known as bibliographic management software or citation managers, can help you manage and organize your citations and format bibliographies and footnotes in your papers.

Many different citation management tools are available - some are available for free while others are not.  EndNote is a leading product in a group of desktop, fee-based, citation managers.  Competing with the desktop products are web-based programs.  Popular names in this second group are Refworks, EndNote Web, Zotero, and many more.  All citation managers carry out the same basic functions but specific features may vary from program to program.

Most citation management tools can help you to:

  • import citation information from databases and library catalogs
  • collect, organize, and annotate citations
  • generate bibliographies and format footnotes or endnotes in a variety of styles 

Purdue University Libraries currently supports EndNote, EndNote Web, and Zotero.  The latter two are web-based and available free to Purdue users.  See this comparison chart to learn more about these free programs so you can decide which one can better meet your research needs.

 

Citation Managers Basic Functions

1.   Providing a search interface.  For databases (such as PubMed, Biological Abstracts or PsycINFO), search by one of two modes:  

  • through "connection" or "config" files.  Searching databases directly from within the citation manager

  • through a combination of export-import "filters".  Searching databases is performed as usual using vendor interfaces.  Citations are selected and downloaded (exported) to your hard drive. The exported results are then imported into the citation manager using a special filter

2.   Creating a database of references.  Once citations are captured, they can be stored, organized and manipulated in personal mini-databases called "libraries" or groups. Many different “libraries” can be created and they can be constantly re-organized to meet changing needs.

3.   Inserting citations into word processing documents.  Using a "cite-while-you-write" feature, citations and footnotes can be inserted into their proper place as you write a paper or manuscript.  As they are inserted, a bibliography is automatically generated and updated as you change the citations.  The newest software versions can permit tables and figures to be inserted as "citations".

4.   Linking between citations to image or PDF files.  Recent versions of citation managers permit links to image or PDF files stored on the hard drive of your computer.  Legends to images, figures and tables can be created.  Linked images and PDF files can also be inserted into word processing documents as if they were citations.

5.   Creating a stand-alone bibliography (reference list).   Using criteria you determine, you can create stand-alone bibliographies that can be saved in common word processing program formats.

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip