Research Guides: Bioinformatics: Literature Searches

Bibliographic Databases

The database below are most likely to have articles relevant to research in bioinformatics.

Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
MEDLINE (PubMed interface) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

-Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
-Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
-Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)
-Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present)
-Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
-Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
(Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
-Index Chemicus (1993-present)
-Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005 – present)