Research Guides: EAPS 360: Great Issues in Science and Society: Step 3: Choose a Database

Purdue AllSearch

Start at http://www.lib.purdue.edu. Click Search All. (Link opens a new window.)

Google type search interface with facets to narrow search.
Provides extensive, broad searching across disciplines.
Includes everything owned by Purdue plus many things we do not.
Serendipitous searching.
A good first place to start.
The place to find books.
The place to find print editions of magazine articles.
Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button.

How to Use Databases

Google type search interface with facets to narrow search.
Provides in-depth, efficient, subject specific searching.
Includes academic, scholarly journals, some of which Purdue does not subscribe to.
Results are highly targeted to discipline.
A good place to continue a search after you have figured out useful keywords.
A good place to go when you want a quick, accurate search.
Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button.

Good Databases to Use for Your Term Paper

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.

In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.

Coverage: 1693 - current
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Environmental Studies
Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Web of Science: All Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Trade and industry-specific publications that cover trends, product launches, and other key contexts. Can also be searched as part of the larger ABI/INFORM Collection.
ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic research published over the past 130 years with citations to journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers, and more. Produced by the American Economic Association.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.