It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the United for Diversity Case Competition Guide
This guide was created to provide resources for students participating in United for Diversity Case Competition. While there are many sources listed here, it is in no way exhaustive. You are encouraged to consult additional sources
Diversity climate, defined as an organizational climate characterized by openness towards and appreciation of individual differences, has been shown to enhance outcomes in culturally diverse teams. To date, it remains unclear which processes are responsible for these findings. This paper presents two quantitative studies (n = 91; 246) that identify trust and openness in workgroup communication as possible mediators. We replicate earlier findings that perceived diversity climate positively relates to job satisfaction, sense of inclusion, work group identification and knowledge sharing in teams. In study 1, trust is shown to mediate the effects of perceived diversity climate on team members’ sense of inclusion. In study 2, trust mediates the relationship between perceived diversity climate and workgroup identification and openness mediates its relationship with knowledge sharing.
Ways to maximize benefits of an increasingly diverse workforce and client base is a continuing concern for organizational leadership. The current processes for managing diversity continue to be necessary but are not sufficient to result in effective outcomes in 21st century organizational environments. Diversity training remains the primary method used to facilitate behavior change. However, existing diversity training is perceived to have failed, calling for a new diversity leadership focus to improve diversity performance. This paper proposes application of the research supporting the self-efficacy construct to build diversity self-efficacy and bridge the gap between diversity training and diversity performance.
We review and critically examine 178 articles whose authors have investigated numerous aspects of diversity training programs on campuses and in the workplace. We first examine the characteristics of the research, including sample, study method, and theoretical framework. Consistent with the training framework of Baldwin and Ford (1988) and Blume and colleagues (2010), we then organize the articles by the context of training, training design, trainees' characteristics, and training outputs. Although we found a myriad of different forms, shapes, and combinations of diversity training in terms of its design elements, some programs (e.g., integrated training) were relatively rare, yet authors viewed them more positively than other programs (e.g., stand-alone training). We discuss gaps in the literature and provide suggestions for future research on diversity training.
Diversity training initiatives are an increasingly large part of many organizations' diversity management portfolio. Little is known, however, about the effectiveness of such initiatives. In this article, we demonstrate how increased adherence to the principles of established social psychological theory can guide and make more coherent the development of diversity initiatives. Likewise, outcomes of diversity training can inform and make more practical social psychological theory and research. In short, both diversity trainers and academics would benefit from greater dialogue, as well as grappling with the tensions that naturally arise when theory and practice collide.
Despite the popularity of diversity training in corporate America, a lack of systematic evaluation has left managers with little guidance on how to design effective diversity training programmes. In this research, we examine how training group composition and trainee experience interact to influence the effects of diversity training on cognitive, affective, and behavioral outcomes. Results indicate that trainees with prior experience with diversity training responded most positively to training groups homogeneous with respect to racioethnicity and nationality; trainees without prior experience with diversity training were generally unaffected by training group composition. The implications of these findings for the design of diversity training programmes in organizations and future research on diversity training are discussed.
The purpose of this meta-analysis was to use theory and research on diversity, attitudes, and training to examine potential differential effects on affective-based, cognitive-based, and skill-based outcomes, to examine potential moderators of those effects with a focus on affective-based outcomes, and finally, to provide quantitative estimates of these posited relationships. Results from 65 studies (N = 8465) revealed sizable effects on affective-based, cognitive-based, and skill-based outcomes as well as interesting boundary conditions for these effects on affective-based outcomes. This study provides practical value to human resources managers and trainers wishing to implement diversity training within organizations as well as interesting theoretical advances for researchers. Practitioners have quantitative evidence that diversity training changes affective-based, cognitive-based, and skill-based trainee outcomes. This study also supports and addresses future research needs.
The author focuses on racial/ethnic diversity and the role leadership plays for emerging library leaders of color. The article covers the need for minority library leadership and the differences between white and minority leadership. Additionally, the author provides her five leadership categories followed by ten leadership realities of which readers should be aware.
This article contends that if U.S. corporations are to remain competitive as they enter the 21st century, their managers must stop trying to manage members of a workforce that is becoming increasingly more diverse and begin leading them. We offer evidence that this admonition amounts to a mandate for corporations to begin developing diversity leaders. In addition to providing a definition of what a diversity leader is, we describe nine characteristics that diversity leaders must possess to successfully lead a diverse workforce. The importance of these characteristics is supported by examples from a variety of large, well-known corporations. Finally, we offer recommendations that will be useful to those managers with aspirations of becoming effective diversity leaders.
Featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Coverage is 1984 to current.
Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Financial statements, company news, industry analysis, historical information on M&A activity, country information, product and brand names, historical ratings, US executive biographies and compensation details, historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Summarizes 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.
United Way works with companies, governments, nonprofits and other organizations to address complex challenges on a worldwide scale. Our partners contribute more than money. Their ideas, volunteer power, in-kind support and more are helping build stronger communities.
Includes accompanying financial statements of United Way of Greater Lafayette and Tippecanoe County, Indiana, Inc., which comprise the statements of financial position as of December 31, 2019 and 2018, and the related statements of activities, functional expenses, and cash flows for the years then ended, and the related notes to the financial statements.
It is evident that organizations are becoming increasingly diverse because of the growing numbers of ethnic minorities in the U. S. and the rise in immigration around the world (U. S. Bureau of Census, 2019). Some estimates indicate that by 2060 ethnic minorities in the U. S. will actually make up the majority of the population (U. S. Bureau of Census, 2019), and national minority group members will constitute over 14% of the 770 million people in the European Union (Worldwide Population Estimates, 2017). Thus, organizations around the world are faced with numerous challenges associated with attracting, motivating, and retaining employees who are culturally diverse, and we need a better understanding of how to increase the inclusion of diverse group members in organizations.
This book analyzes the brand communities of major American multinationals across three industries: finance, tech, and consumer goods. It assesses how companies communicate their diversity approaches on social media (Twitter) and studies the ensuing perceptions of online users. By comparing more innovative sectors (tech and consumer goods) with a less innovative industry (finance), the author examines differences in the way brands approach and communicate about diversity in online settings. The results of the study lead to the development of a theoretical framework with practical applications for business communication academics and professionals alike.
Rethinking How to Build Inclusive Organizations Race, Work, and Leadership is a rare and important compilation of essays that examines how race matters in people's experience of work and leadership. What does it mean to be black in corporate America today? How are racial dynamics in organizations changing? How do we build inclusive organizations? Inspired by and developed in conjunction with the research and programming for Harvard Business School's commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the HBS African American Student Union, this groundbreaking book shines new light on these and other timely questions and illuminates the present-day dynamics of race in the workplace.
All too often, in a hurried attempt to "catch up," diversity training can create division among staff or place undue burdens on a handful of employees. Instead, academic libraries need approaches to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) that position these priorities as ongoing institutional and professional goals.