Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TCPL Libraries Resources
A to Z database
Morningstar Document Research
All avalable from here: TCPL Databases
Entrepreneurship Business Plans
Business Plans Handbook
Provides business articles for specific businesses. May provide actual sample business plan and financial data and/or guides to starting and operating business. Searchable by business.
Provides over 500 searchable sample business plans. Also advice for writing plans, marketing, advertising, growing or purchasing a business.
Quick MBA Entrepreneurship
Presents a definition of entrepreneurship and contrasts entrepreneurship to small business. Provides a sample business plan outline that lists topics frequently covered by business plans, a business model. Provides tips for making a successful pitch to venture capitalists, including finding the right venture capital firm, building credibility, and delivering your presentation.
Provides links to entrepreneurial news and events. Provides how-to guides about many aspects of business including operations, leadership and strategy, business travel, sales, marketing, human resources, finance and capital, law and taxation, writing a business plan, customer service, and running a one-person business.
Small Business Administration: Business Plan Basics
Provides sample business plans. Provides detailed, step-by-step guides for developing and writing a comprehensive business plan.
Minority Business Development Agency
Provides help guides for planning, forming, and marketing a business.
Classification Systems for Industries
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a U.S. system for classifying industries by a 4-digit code. In most cases it is being replaced by the more recent 6-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Many databases will let you search by SIC and/or NAICS code, so it can be helpful to know the code(s) for the industries you are interested in.
- This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.
- Online, searchable version of the Standard Industrial Classification Manua l , 1987
SIC Code & NAICS Code Conversion Tables
- Online comparison between the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual and the 1997 North American Industrial Classification System.