A business and management database for articles on business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, company news and industry-specific topics worldwide. Find research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, as well as information on 60,000+ companies.
Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages. Updated daily.
Passport to Success by Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. ChaneyLike it or not, every business--even one conducted from the kitchen table--is global. No matter the industry, employees now routinely travel to other countries or interact with foreign customers, vendors, or fellow employees. Or they conduct business over the phone, via e-mail, or through video links. As a result, they have to understand international customs and etiquette or risk losing customers or botching business relations. And understanding business customs in other cultures isn't merely playing good defense--it often leads to new products or service enhancements that help an enterprise grow. In Passport to Success, Jeanette Martin and Lillian Chaney apply their expertise in business etiquette, training, and intercultural communications to present a practical guide to conducting business successfully around the world. Each chapter in this book presents in-depth information on the business environment and culture in the top twenty trading partners of the United States: Canada, Mexico, Japan, China, United Kingdom, Germany, South Korea, Netherlands, France, Singapore, Taiwan, Belgium, Australia, Brazil, Hong Kong, Switzerland, Malaysia, Italy, India, and Israel. Chapters contain both practical tips and illustrative examples, and the book concludes with a listing of resources (books, magazines, organizations, and Web sites) for additional information. In addition, Passport to Success contains useful overview material that will help business people plan a trip abroad or a campaign to win customers in another country. Besides trade statistics and information on global trade agreements, readers will find information on using the Internet productively to conduct or seek business, how women can succeed in countries with traditional, male-oriented business cultures, how to build cross-cultural relationships, and ways language can enhance--or obstruct--business dealings. Every businessperson is now a player in the global market for goods and services. This book provides valuable tips that will help people avoid missteps and increase their sales and personal success when dealing with counterparts in other countries.
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
The World's Business Cultures by Barry TomalinWith the aid of the specially developed 5 COCOs model, expert authors demonstrate how to get your communications right internationally and ensure that meetings, both face-to-face and virtual, go according to plan. Barry Tomalin and Mike Nicks offer strategies and tactics for getting people from different countries on your side, detailing the knowledge you need to make the right impression and to avoid causing offence. The authors provide a framework for understanding any culture in the world, but include specific chapters on the predicted top 16 economies in the world in 2050 (as predicted by Morgan Grenfell bank)."
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Palgrave Handbook of Cross-Cultural Business Negotiation by Mohammad Khan (Editor); Noam Ebner (Editor)Global business management issues and concerns are complex, diverse, changing, and often intractable. Industry actors and policy makers alike rely upon partnerships and alliances for developing and growing sustainable business organizations and ventures. As a result, global business leaders must be well-versed in managing and leading multidimensional human relationships and business networks - requiring skill and expertise in conducting the negotiation processes that these entail. After laying out a foundation justifying the importance of studying negotiation in a global context, this book will detail conventional and contemporary theories regarding international engagement, culture, cultural difference, and cross-cultural interaction, with particular focus on their influence on negotiation. Building on these elements, the book will provide a broad array of country-specific chapters, each describing and analyzing the negotiation culture of businesspeople in a different country around the world. Finally, the book will look ahead, with an eye towards identifying and anticipating new trends and developments in the field of global negotiation. This text will appeal to scholars and researchers in international business, cross-cultural studies, and conflict management who seek to understand the challenges of intercultural communication and negotiation. It will provide trainers and consultants with the insights they need to prepare their clients for intercultural negotiation. Finally, the text will appeal to businesspeople who find themselves heading out to engage with counterparts in another country, or operating in other multinational environments on a regular basis.
Publication Date: 2019-01-24
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. ConawayHow do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world. "As the global community comes closer together, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales & Marketing will be a valuable resource to every person in every industry around the world." --Gil A. Cardon, Convention Manager, Japan National Tourism Organization "Just as you can be a connoisseur of wine, Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing can help make you a connoisseur of cultures, philosophies, business behaviors, and social practices. Read it not just for work, but for the human side as well." --Giuseppe G. B. Pezzotti, Senior Lecturer, Cornell University School of Hotel Administration "Terri has accurately and succinctly captured the key issues that businesspeople or tourists need to know when traveling. It is spot-on, and a very valuable resource!" --Thomas M. Feifar, Director of Foreign Military Sales, NAVISTAR Defense