Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Loud on Paper Library Guide

This guide provides information on the Fall 2022 event, zines, and how to make a zine.

Workshop Details

Loud on Paper: Fall 2022 Lecture & Zine-Making Workshop

Date: Wednesday, October 26, 2022

Time: TBD

Registration Deadline: September 1, 2022

Place: Stewart Center, Room 278

Format: 90 minutes, in-person

Participants: 2 elected members of each registered Asian-/Asian American-interest student organization to act as "Student Zinesters" for their organization (capped at 40 students total). Invitation and registration required. (Registration information is forthcoming.)

Speaker and Workshop Leader: 

Dr. Todd Honma, Associate Professor of Asian American Studies, Pitzer College (Claremont, CA)

MA, PhD, University of Southern California
MA, MLIS, University of California, Los Angeles
BA, University of California, Berkeley 

Dr. Honma has worked on zine-making projects with California Asian American communities. He has taught courses on Filipino American Experiences, Asian American and Queer Zines, and Tattoos in American Popular Culture. Selected publications by Dr. Honma include:

Work Commitments and Deliverables

Student Involvement and Responsibilities

  • Student Zinesters from registered student organizations will participate in the Fall 2022 Zine Workshop and will take what they learn back to their student organizations to guide their peers in the collective design and creation of their organization's zine for the remainder of the semester.
  • Student organizations will share their zines with Purdue Libraries and will be given the option to donate their original zine or a copy of their zine to the Asian and Asian American Resource and Cultural Center (AAARCC) or Purdue University Archives and Special Collections for the continued preservation and public access of their zines.
  • Student organizations that wish to donate their zines will work with librarians to describe their zines for public access.
  • Student organizations will have the option to circulate their zines within the wider community, both on campus and beyond, in Spring 2023.  

Purdue Libraries' Role

  • Libraries will continue to hold optional workshops and consultations throughout the semester for student organizations that would like ongoing support in the creation of their zine. 
  • Libraries and AAARCC will support the development and recording of descriptive metadata to accompany the zines of the organizations that choose to donate their zines. 
  • Libraries will provide holistic support for the work of student organizations that choose to circulate their zines.

Goals and Learning Objectives

Collection Development

  • Expand the historical record of AAPI students at Purdue and bolster the representation of their own voices, experiences, and values in library collections and archives
  • Establish a model for future zine events aimed at building an inclusive zine collection at Purdue Libraries centered around diverse student perspectives
  • Explore a "horizontal" approach to collection development through the use of information provided by student organization zines to inform library collection development efforts

Learning

  • Develop critical consciousness in participating students about the process of information creation, collection, and access
  • Foster leadership skills in "Student Zinesters" that guide their peers through the process of information creation and alternative publishing processes
  • Recognize the existence and contribution of learning communities on Purdue's campus that may not be represented in the existing academic curriculum

Engagement

  • Develop working relationships across campus departments, units, and student communities
  • Work with campus partners to articulate and highlight the shared goals of Purdue Libraries, AAARCC, Asian American Studies program faculty, and Purdue students