Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Krannert Research Data Resources: Home

data resources licensed by the Krannert School of Management for research and educational purposes

Resources in this guide

The data resources listed in this guide were licensed by the Krannert School of Management for research and educational purposes. Most, though not all, were acquired through the Krannert Research Data Initiative. For more business data resources, please see the LibGuide for Business, Finance, & Economics: Statistics and Data.

About the Krannert Research Data Initiative (KRDI)

The Krannert Research Data Initiative (KRDI) began in 2019 when Krannert administration committed to spending $1 million over five years on licensed datasets above and beyond purchases made by individual faculty and areas/departments. Some of the licensed datasets are available to all Purdue University (West Lafayette) authorized users. Others are licensed for private use or limited sharing. Periodically, Krannert administration calls for proposals from faculty to add new datasets to the collection or renew existing resources. Proposals are reviewed by a committee of Krannert faculty, and those selected for funding are managed by a joint effort from Krannert administration and the Libraries.

Purdue University Research Repository

The Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) is an online, collaborative working space and data-publication platform that supports the data management needs of Purdue researchers and their collaborators. PURR provides online file storage and sharing space, helpful resources, and a platform for publishing and archiving data.

Private PURR projects are great for sharing data by request with a limited number of collaborators. For help sharing data, contact the PURR team.

PURR logo

Librarian

Sandi Caldrone's picture
Sandi Caldrone
Contact:
STEW 174
765-494-8446

Proprietary Data Resources Currently Available through Krannert

The following data resources are currently available for use with restrictions. This list is still under construction. Please check back for updates.
AirDNA

Includes AirBnB property trajectory data for 10 Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs): 1) Boston - Worcester - Providence; 2) Chicago - Naperville; 3) Dallas - Fort Worth; 4) Houston - The Woodlands; 5) Los Angeles - Long Beach; 6) Miami - Forth Lauderdale; 7) New York - Newark; 8) Philadelphia - Reading - Camden; 9) San Francisco - Oakland - Hayward; 10) Washington - Baltimore - Arlington. This dataset is split into two batches: 2015-19 data delivered in 2020, and an update of 2020 data to be delivered in 2021. Available in the Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) upon request to purr@purdue.edu.


BoardEx

Includes educational background, prior employment, and connections of directors and executives from North American companies. Useful for analyzing the proportion of politically connected directors, using CEO-level controls such as age, gender, and experience. Also covers executive stock option holdings. Available through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS).[1]


Center for Research in Securities Prices (CRSP) Mutual Fund Database

The CRSP Mutual Fund Database is designed to facilitate research on the historical performance of open-ended mutual funds by using survivor-bias-free data. Includes a history of each mutual fund’s name, investment style, fee structure, holdings, and asset allocation. Also included are monthly total returns, monthly total net assets, monthly/daily net asset values, and dividends. Additionally, schedules of rear and front load fees, asset class codes, and management company contact information are provided. Available through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS).[1]


FlightGlobal

The data, provided by FlightStats/FlightGlobal, includes detailed aircraft-level data matched with daily flight status data on departures and arrivals to and from all U.S. airports from 2005 through 2018. Available in the Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) upon request to purr@purdue.edu.


Nielsen Datasets (Consumer Panel Data (2004-2016), Retail Scanner Data, Ad Intel Data)

Consumer Panel Data includes information about product purchases made by a panel of consumer households across all retail outlets in all US markets. Retail Scanner Data includes weekly purchase and pricing data generated from participating retail store point-of-sale systems in all US markets. Ad Intel Data covers advertisement occurrences for a variety of media types across the United States. Available by request through the Chicago Booth Kilts Center for Marketing.[2]


OptionMetrics IvyDB US

IvyDB is a comprehensive database of historical price, implied volatility, and sensitivity information for the entire US listed index and equity options markets. It includes historical data for all US listed equities and market indices and all US listed index and equity options from 1996 till present. IvyDB data files are updated nightly to reflect new closing prices, dividend payments or other corporate actions, and option contract expirations, new listings, or other changes. Available through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS).[1]


SNL Financial

The SNL Fundamentals data set offers leading coverage of the Financial Institutions (FIG), Real Estate, and Metals & Mining sectors including detailed current and historical industry data points on companies globally. Historical annual and interim data is available as far back as 1990 for certain data sets and geographies. Available through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) under Compustat - Capital IQ.[1]


[1] Available to Purdue University Libraries users through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS). Users must create a WRDS account. Undergraduate accounts may be approved on a case by case basis, but cannot be guaranteed. To access the data as well as supporting documentation like data dictionaries, login with your WRDS account and visit the Get Data page to browse a list of all datasets.

[2] Available to faculty, PhD students, and post-docs working on projects approved by the Chicago Booth Kilts Center for Marketing. For more information, please see the Kilts Center Neilsen data policies.

How can I use these datasets?

When accessing any published dataset, even open-access datasets, look for the license or use agreement that specifies who can re-use the data, under what conditions, and how it should be cited. Many of the datasets listed in this guide contain proprietary information, and have strict guidelines for re-use, even for educational purposes. Some of these datasets are only accessible by request. When you request access, you will be provided with a copy of the use agreement, which you must read and agree to before accessing the data.