Government Documents on Criminal Justice
The U.S. Government is a major producer of criminal justice information, analysis, and statistics. Most federal criminal justice publications are produced by various divisions of the Justice Department. Other federal agencies, though, also produce publications useful to criminal justice students and scholars. Subject headings you may want to use to search for government documents in the Library Catalog include:
Criminal Investigation--United States
Criminal Statistics--United States
Firearms United States
Prisons--Law and Legislation--United States
Victims of Crimes--United States--Statistics
Featured Site: State (of Minnesota) vs. Derek Chauvin is a Hennepin County, MN District Court website featuring documents on the murder of George Floyd and subsequent legal proceedings.
Newspaper and Journal Article Databases
NexisUni-Provides access to multiple U.S. and international newspaper articles and some legal information resources including federal and state court case opinions.
ProQuest Newsstream-Provides access to multiple U.S. newspaper articles including regional newspapers like the Lafayette Journal & Courier.
ProQuest Research Library-Provides access to articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Social Sciences Full Text-Provides access to scholarly journal articles in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts-Premier database of scholarly sociological literature.
The principal U.S. Government publications index is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 Un36 which is also available online from 1976-present and provides links to many online U.S. Government publications. Congressional Information Service (CIS) Index HSSE REF 328.73005 C76 is a useful source for congressional and legislative criminal justice information. Additional indexes for researching historical government publications on this subject include CIS Index to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1789-1969 HSSE REF 328.73 C71c, CIS Index to Executive Branch Documents 1789-1909 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1990, and CIS Index to Executive Branch Documents 1910-1932 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1996.
HERE for information on downloading Purdue Libraries ebooks