Government Documents on Agriculture
The U.S. Government produces voluminous information on agriculture. This information covers material as diverse as gardening advice, crop insurance, rice production, soils of individual U.S. counties, wheat export statistics, and laws. Purdue Libraries have many government publications on agriculture with most of these being in the HSSE and Parrish MEL Libraries. Useful subject headings to search the Library Catalog for government information on agriculture include
Agriculture and State--United States
Agricultural Laws and Legislation--United States
Agricultural Price Supports--United States
Droughts United States
Wheat Trade--United States
Useful non-government databases for finding scholarly information about the history of U.S. agriculture include:
America: History and Life (Articles from U.S. and Canadian History journals)
America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Series # 6, 7-10) Covers articles from newspapers from 1741-1922 representing 215 newspapers from 27 state and Washington, DC.
HarpWeek Archives (Provides articles from Harpers Weekly magazine from 1857-1912)
Hoosier State Chronicles (Articles from Indiana newspapers provided by Indiana State Library)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Articles from major U.S. nwespapers e.g. New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune etc.)
The principal index for U.S. Government publications is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 Un36. The GPO Index on the Purdue Libraries indexes page is similiar to GPO on SilverPlatter. You can also use Catalog of U.S. Government Publications to search U.S. Government publications for many decades.. A useful bibliographic guide to government agency publications is Guide to U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF Desk 015.73 G943.
Other useful indexes for U.S. Government information on agriculture ProQuest Statistical Insight covering statistical information, the Congressional Information Service (CIS) Index HSSE REF 328.73005 C76 covering congressional publications, its predecessor CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index 1833-1969 HSSE REF 348.731 C76, the Congressional Serial Set Index HSSE REF 328.73 C761c and Proquest Congressional featuring the Congressional Serial Set and other historical congressional publications, CIS Index to Executive Branch Documents 1789-1909 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1990, CIS Index to Executive Branch Documents 1910-1932 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1996, Checklist of United States Publications 1789-1909 HSSE REF 016.353 Un36, and Historical Statistics of the United States: Millenium Edition HSSE REF Desk 317.3 H629 2006.
Click here for information on downloading Purdue Libraries ebooks