Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Water-Quality Assessment PRogram
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) began its NAWQA (National Water Quality Assessment) program in 1991, systematically collecting chemical, biological, and physical water quality data from 51 study units (basins) across the nation. The data warehouse currently contains and links the following data:
- Chemical concentrations in water, bed sediment, and aquatic organism tissues for about 3,000 chemical constituents
- Site, basin, well and network characteristics with many descriptive variables
- Daily stream flow information for fixed sampling sites
- Groundwater levels for sampled wells
- 4,700 surface water sites and 9,500 wells
- 68,000 nutrient samples and 45,000 pesticide samples as well as 13,000 VOC samples
- 2,700 samples of bed sediment and aquatic organism tissues
- Biological community data for fish, aquatic macroinvertebrate, and algae community samples (see "BioData" homepage)
Most of these data came from the USGS National Water Information System--NWIS Water-Quality Data for NAWQA sites.
AGRICOLA (Ovid interface) AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. The print equivalent, Bibliography of Agriculture (1942 1969) is available in the Life Sciences Library.
CHEMLIBnetBASE Collection of over 280 chemistry and chemistry related e-books. This resource includes a number of important titles such as: CRC Handbook of Fundamental Spectroscopic Correlation Charts, CRC Handbook of Organic Photochemistry and Photobiology, Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook, Handbook of Chemical and Biological Sensors, Industrial Solvents Handbook, Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference, and much more.
Ecology Abstracts Ecology Abstracts covers journal literature pertaining to the relationships of organisms to each other and to their environments. About 285 journals are indexed, some completely, others, selectively. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. There is detailed information on resource and ecosystems management and modeling as well as material on the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man on environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering and fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field, as well as covering environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology.
Knovel Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included.