Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patents & Commercialization of Intellectual Property
Making It by There are many ways in which a product can be manufactured but most designers know only a handful of techniques. Informative and incredibly easy to use, this bestselling book discusses more than a hundred production methods in detail.Making It appeals not only to product designers but also to interior, furniture, and graphic designers who need access to a range of production methods, as well as to all students of design. This expanded edition includes nine new processes and an all-new section of over 40 finishing techniques.
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
Manufacturing Process Design and Costing by The only book to provide detailed analytical tools for manufacturing process design. No other book takes a data perspective to design, although this becoming a hot topic in research and industry.
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook by Manufacturing Process Selection "Handbook "provides engineers and designers with process knowledge and the essential technological and cost data to guide the selection of manufacturing processes early in the product development cycle. Building on content from the authors earlier introductory "Process Selection "guide, this expanded handbook begins with the challenges and benefits of identifying manufacturing processes in the design phase and appropriate strategies for process selection. The bulk of the book is then dedicated to concise coverage of different manufacturing processes, providing a quick reference guide for easy comparison and informed decision making. For each process examined, the book considers key factors driving selection decisions, including: Basic process descriptions with simple diagrams to illustrate Notes on material suitability Notes on available process variations Economic considerations such as costs and production rates Typical applications and product examples Notes on design aspects and quality issues Providing a quick and effective reference for the informed selection of manufacturing processes with suitable characteristics and capabilities, "Manufacturing Process Selection" "Handbook "is intended to quickly develop or refresh your experience of selecting optimal processes and costing design alternatives in the context of concurrent engineering. It is an ideal reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking design modules and projects as part of broader engineering programs. * Provides manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes in a standard format * Includes process capability charts detailingthe processing tolerance ranges for key material types * Offers detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assembly level"
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Materials and Design by Materials and Design: The Art and Science of Material Selection in Product Design, Second Edition, discusses the role of materials and processes in product design. The book focuses on the materials that designers need, as well as on how and why they use them. The book's 10 chapters cover topics such as function and personality, factors influencing product design, the design process, materials selection, and case studies in materials and design. Appendices for each chapter provide exercises for readers, along with detailed charts of technical attributes of different materials for reference. This book will be particularly useful to both students and working designers. Students are introduced to the role of materials in manufacturing and design, with the help of familiar language and concepts. Working designers can use the book as a reference source for materials and manufacturing. * The best guide ever published on the on the role of materials, past and present, in product development, by noted materials authority Mike Ashby and professional designer Kara Johnson--now with even better photos and drawings on the Design Process * Significant new section on the use of re-cycled materials in products, and the importance of sustainable design for manufactured goods and services * Enhanced materials profiles, with addition of new materials types like nanomaterials, advanced plastics and bio-based materials
Publication Date: 2009-10-28
Process Selection by The definitive practical guide to choosing the optimum manufacturing process, written for students and engineers. Process Selection provides engineers with the essential technological and economic data to guide the selection of manufacturing processes. This fully revised second edition covers a wide range of important manufacturing processes and will ensure design decisions are made to achieve optimal cost and quality objectives. Expanded and updated to include contemporary manufacturing, fabrication and assembly technologies, the book puts process selection and costing into the context of modern product development and manufacturing, based on parameters such as materials requirements, design considerations, quality and economic factors. Key features of the book include: manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes and their variants in a standard format; process capability charts detailing the processing tolerance ranges for key material types; strategies to facilitate process selection; detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assemby level. The approach enables an engineer to understand the consequences of design decisions on the technological and economic aspects of component manufacturing, fabrication and assembly. This comprehensive book provides both a definitive guide to the subject for students and an invaluable source of reference for practising engineers. * manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes in a standard format * process capability charts detail the processing tolerance ranges for key material types * detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assembly level
Publication Date: 2003-06-02
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. The third edition has been significantly expanded, most notably by the addition of new tabular material for a wide range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials. For engineers making, selecting, or evaluating materials, this one, compact volume provides the ideal starting point. It is exceptionally easy to search-the authors have organized it according to materials properties, provided a key word indexing system, and placed many data sets in a convenient Selection Section where materials can be compared by property value, a feature ideal for design applications. A bestseller since its first edition, the CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook stands alone as a the consummate reference for data on the full spectrum of engineering materials.
Publication Date: 2000-12-26
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena Structural Phenomena Fundamental Core Theory Structural Materials Polymers and Materials Chemistry Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution.
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
Machine Elements in Mechanical Design by Using contemporary information, this book provides a practical approach to designing machine elements in the context of complete mechanical design. It covers some of the primary machine elements such as belt drives, chain drives, gears, shafts, keys, couplings, seals and rolling contact bearings. It also covers plain surface bearings, linear motion elements, fasteners, springs, machine frames, bolted connections, welded joints, electric motors, controls, clutches and brakes.
Call Number: Engineering and Science Library 2nd Floor WALC TJ230 .M68 2004
Publication Date: 2003-07-16
Machinery's Handbook, 30th Edition, Toolbox Edition by For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice. The 30th edition of the "Bible of the Metalworking Industries" contains major revisions of existing content, as well as new material on a variety of topics. It is the essential reference for mechanical, manufacturing, and industrial engineers, designers, draftsmen, toolmakers, machinists, engineering and technology students, and the serious home hobbyist. New to the 30th Edition: Expanded metrology section, including v-blocks and micrometer, vernier, and dial calipers. New fluid power section covering pneumatic,hydraulic, and vacuum theory and applications. New powder metallurgy section, including additive manufacturing. Even more useful specs, including tap drill sizes for Unified threads, reaming allowances for drilling, mesh and grit sizes, rules for figuring tapers, and assembly with pins and studs. Recently added information on sheet metal and presses, keys and keyways, shaft alignment, taps and tapping, helical coil screw thread inserts, metric screw threads, miniature screws, fluid mechanics, solid geometry, statistics, calculating hole coordinates and thread dimensions, and distinguishing between bolts and screws. Plus . . . Many thoroughly reworked and renovated sections throughout. Comprehensive tables of contents at the beginning of each section and extensive indexing. Hundreds of new and thousands of refined and redone illustrations and equations. Updated standards. Expanded metric content.
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Materials Processing Handbook by The field of materials science and engineering is rapidly evolving into a science of its own. While traditional literature in this area often concentrates primarily on property and structure, the Materials Processing Handbook provides a much needed examination from the materials processing perspective. This unique focus reflects the changing complexity of new and emerging materials such as cutting-edge semiconductors, smart materials, and materials based on spintronics. This highly comprehensive work also presents groundbreaking coverage of the processes applied to a myriad of solid materials including ceramics, polymers, metals, composites, and semiconductors. Organized into six sections, this work examines processes that convert one phase into another, processes that change only the microstructure within a solid phase, shape changes that modify the microstructure and properties of materials, joining processes, and the basics of processes integration. Rich in data, yet accessible across several fields, this volume provides technicians and students with a one-stop resource on proven and promising new developments in materials processing.
Publication Date: 2010-12-12
ASM Materials Information Online ASM Materials Information consists of four main content areas: * ASM Handbooks Online, featuring the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. * ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys. * ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 2500 micrographs for industrially important alloys. * ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with over 1000 case histories and authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods.
Engineered Materials Abstracts Comprehensive index to world literature on engineered materials such as polymers, plastics, rubber, ceramics and composites. The database addresses manufacturing practices, properties and applications of these materials.
Knovel Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources, including handbooks and encyclopedias. Some tables are interactively searchable.
Note: Until December 2020, Purdue users have access to the Engineering Management & Leadership collection in Knovel, which includes books and other resources on professional ethics, fundamentals of business finance and accounting, techniques for business analysis, development of leadership skills, personnel management, and tips on written and spoken presentations that get results. This collection is only available until December 2020.
Materials Business File This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. News, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations and management issues are all covered.
Coverage: 1985 - current
Sweets Source Allows user to find information on a specific construction product or manufacturer. Provides a searchable collection of information on building materials based on manufacturer's catalogs. Arranged in 16 building trades divisions, the directory of construction may be searched by state and city, name of company and business type.