Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database assets are included in the central repository. They can only be created in the central repository.
What should I use it for?
If you want to add a link to one of your system’s databases, you should use this asset type.
What shouldn’t I use it for?
If you aren’t adding a link to one of your system’s databases, you don’t want to use this asset type.
The differences between databases and links:
Database assets are the more exclusive siblings of your link assets. Databases are still just links that you can add to your guide, with a couple of big differences.
You cannot create new database assets from a guide (you can only reuse existing ones), and only Admin accounts (or Regular accounts with additional permissions - CMS Only) can create and manage them.
This ensures that everyone is using the right information for the database and assists with ease of database management.
- Choose Database from the Add/Reorder dropdown.
- Search for the database you want to use.
- After you've selected the database, you can give it a custom description and modify how that description is displayed.
- Click Save.
Example of a PUL Database
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.