Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar is an enhanced version of Google that targets scholarly literature. Google Scholar interfaces with Purdue Libraries databases to reflect which articles we have full-text access to. Google Scholar can help fine tune your internet searches.
Be advised that Google Scholar has been known to contain incorrect or incomplete information. If you are trying to conduct a comprehensive literature search, Google Scholar is a great place to start, but it should not be the only resource you use.
A few databases to get you started
Looking for journal articles? Here is a brief list of databases
subscribed to by the Purdue Libraries. Most of them contain at least
Look for the icon to link to full-text in another database.
- PAIS International Covers political, social, and policy issues of all sorts.
- Sociological Abstracts Covers sociological issues, including activism & action research, community organization, the media, political science. Good place to look for information about attitudes and behaviors.
Do you REALLY know how to read a scientific research paper? This handy tutorial will help you navigate even the toughest journal article.
Other sites of interest
Displays time series of development statistics for all countries
Create charts comparing national statistics. Data is compiled from the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.