Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

EAPS 104: Step 3: Choose a database

Term Paper resources for EAPS 104 Oceanography

Purdue AllSearch

Start at http://www.lib.purdue.edu. Click Search All.  (Link opens a new window.)

  • Google type search interface with facets to narrow search. 
  • Provides extensive, broad searching across disciplines.
  • Includes everything owned by Purdue plus many things we do not.
  • Serendipitous searching.
  • A good first place to start.
  • The place to find books.
  • The place to find print editions of magazine articles. 
  • Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button. Check Purdue Alma for full text availability

Disciplinary Databases

  • Google type search interface with facets to narrow search. 
  • Provides in-depth, efficient, subject specific searching.
  • Includes academic, scholarly journals, some of which Purdue does not subscribe to.
  • Results are highly targeted to discipline.
  • A good place to continue a search after you have figured out useful keywords.
  • A good place to go when you want a quick, accurate search.
  • Retrieve anything we don't own by clicking on the FInd It@Purdue Libraries button. Check Purdue Alma for full text availability

Good Databases to Use for Your Term Paper

  • Academic Search Premier - General search with major newspapers, and .pdf full text of scholarly articles
  • GreenFile - Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles
  • Greenr - Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles
  • Oceanic Abstracts - Abstracts of subject specific scholarly journal articles with links to full text or interlibrary loan
  • Science in Context - Subject specific search with magazines and newspapers, as well as scholarly articles
  • Water Resources Abstracts -  Abstracts of subject specific scholarly journal articles with links to full text or interlibrary loan
  • Web of Science - Abstracts of interdisciplinary and subject specific scholarly journal articles with links to full text or interlibrary loan

For Help

Contact Megan Sapp Nelson

msn{at}purdue.edu