Volume 17, #1 Spring/Summer 2011
CIC Google Digitization: Purdue is in the process of contributing documents to the CIC Google digitization project during early Spring 2011. We prepared a list of 82,000+ candidate items and Google selected a "pick list" of 59,000 items which we are now in the process of preparing to send to Google for digitization. These items represent a variety of 20th century documents from a number of agencies we're not responsible for under the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. We are also contributing our paper congressional serial set volumes since we have the LexisNexis digital version of the serial set. (Bert Chapman)
Indiana University Law Library-Maurer School of Law News: Director Collem Pauwels is retiring. "After an extraordinary and dedicated career that leaves an incalculable legacy at our school, Colleen Pauwels has announced that she is retiring at the end of June. She leaves one of the top law libraries in the nation, and perhaps the world----a fact that is largeuly due to her vision and her wonderful ability to identify and recruit dedicated and accomplished librarians and staff." Lauren Robel, Den and Val Nolan Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law.
The Law Library has recently purchased ProQuest Legislative Insight Digital Archive Web Service. This is ProQuest's new compiled legislative history database and our purchase is for the entire Bloomington campus. We have also recently subscribed to a few other digital collections, which are available to the entire Bloomington campus including: HeinOnline's Intellectual Property and UN collection and Gale's Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, Part 2 (with MARC records). Our online resources are listed here. (Jennifer Bryan Morgan).
Civil War Sesquicentennial: This year begins the four year commemoration of the Civil War Sesquicentennial. This bloody conflict resulted in the deaths of approximately 620,000 individuals and profoundly changed our country's development and evolution. A phenomenal number of popular and scholarly works have been written and will continue to be written on this conflict examining political, diplomatic, military, economic, and social aspects. It is also possible to visit many sites, including battlefields, associated with the Civil War since some of these are run by federal agencies such as the National Park Service, state government agencies, and private sector owners. Government documents make up esential resources for studying this conflict with the Offical Records of the War of the Rebellion (OR) being the preeminent primary sources. These materials, covering from Union and Confederate Army and Navy operations are available through Cornell University's Making of America Digital Library.
There is not a national Civil War sesquicentannial commission, like the Civil War Centennial Commission set up in the early 1960s. However, a number of government resources are available on the Civil War to fuel your interest and enhance your desire to visit Civil War sites. The National Park Service's Civil War Site provides information on Civil War locales and state commemorations. The National Park Service also has a Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System which provides information on soldiers and sailors including their state of origin, service regiment, military regiment history, cemeteries, and military ranking. It is an excellent source of genealogical information.
Indiana's Civil War Sesquicentennial provides links to Indiana Civil War information and links to other state Civil War sesquicentennial activities. The Historical Bureau's newly unveiled Google maps feature of state historical markers features photos and map locations of Indiana's historical markers. IUPUI's Digital library has digitized Indiana Civil War Governor Oliver Morton's telegraph books here. Numerous books have been written about Indiana during the Civil War with representative examples including John Hunt Morgan and His Raiders, Indiana in the Civil War Era, 1850-1880, and many others. (Bert Chapman)
Purdue Libraries News: As already mentioned we've been involved in the CIC Google Digitation project. We are making additional progress in retrospectively cataloging U.S. documents for the Indiana Light Archive. We have completed cataloging Senate Commerce Committee hearings (Y 4.C 73/2) between 1930-1974 and have previously cataloged House & Senate Armed Services Committee Hearings (Y4.AR 5/2 and Y 4.AR 5/3) from approximately 1947-1974. We have also cataloged many Senate Government Operations Committee (Y 4.G 74/6) hearings from 1952-1974) as examples of our work in this area. Our work on congressional committtee hearings will continue. My new book Geopolitics: A Guide to the Issues has just been published in cloth and ebook format by Praeger and emphasizes the importance of geography in international political, strategic, and economic affairs, the history of geopolitics as a discipline, provides information on government and other geopoltical information resources, and profiles the work of historical and contemporary geopolitical writers. A Purdue University news release provides additional information. Purdue Libraries have also received a $2 million grant from the Conrad Hilton Foundation to endow an archivist for the Neil Armstrong and Eugene Cernan papers. (Bert Chapman)
Mississippi River Commission: This agency is part of the Army Corps of Engineers and is headquartered in Vicksburg, MS. It was established by Congress on June 28, 1879 and its purpose is improving the Mississippi River's condition, fostering navigation, promoting commerce, and preventing destructive floods. Its website provides information about organizational activities including water level readings throughout Mississippi River Valley drainage area districts and stations. This itself is a particularly good resource for monitoring water levels during the Spring 2011 floods on this river.
The commission's website also includes organizational history highlights and the text of relevant federal flood control laws and documentation of ongoing plans and activities. (Bert Chapman)