Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

English 544 - Milton: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Bibliographies

British Museum. Department of Printed Books. Thomason Collection. Catalogue of the Pamphlets, Books, Newspapers, and Manuscripts relating to the Civil War, the Commonwealth, and Restoration, collected by George Thomason, 1640-1661. London: British Museum, 1908.

English Short Title Catalogue. www.estc.bl.uk

Hazlitt, William Carew. Bibliographical Collections and Notes on Early English Literature, 1474-1700. London: Quaritch, 1876-1903.

Huckabay, Calvin. John Milton: An Annotated Bibliography, 1968-1988. Paul J. Klemp. ed. Pittsburg: Duquesne University Press, 1996.

Jones, Edward. Milton's Sonnets: an annotated bibliography 1900-1992. Binghampton: Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies, 1994.

Klemp, Paul J. The essential Milton: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1989.

Nelson, Carolyn and Matthew Seccombe. British Newspapers and Periodical, 1641-1700. New York: Modern Language Association, 1987.

Patrides, C. A. An Annotated Critical Bibliography of John Milton. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1984.

Pollard, A. W. and G. R. Redgrave. A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640. London: Bibliographical Society, 1926.

Printing for Parliament, 1641-1700. Sheila Lambert ed. London: Swift Printers, 1988.

Shawcross, John T. Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700. Binghampton: Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies, 1984.

Shawcross, John T. Milton: A Bibliography for the Years 1624-1700: addenda and corrigenda. Binghampton: Medieval and Renaissance Texts and Studies, 1990.

The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. George Watson ed. 5 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1969-1977.

Thompson, Elbert N. S. John Milton, topical bibliography. New York: AMS Press, 1973.

Wing, Donald G. Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America and of English Books Printed in other Countries, 1641-1700. New York: Printed for the Index Society by the Columbia University Press, 1945-1951.

 

Biographies

Brown, Cedric. John Milton: A Literary Life. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1995.

Dictionary of National Biography. Sir Leslie Stephen and Sir Sidney Lee eds. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1885-.

Garnett, Richard. Life of John Milton. London: W. Scott, 1890.

Levi, Peter. Eden Renewed: the public and private life of John Milton. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1997.

Lewalski, Barbara Kiefer. The Life of John Milton: a critical biography. Malden: Blackwell Publishing, 2003.

Masson, David. The Life of John Milton: Narrated in Connexion with the Political Ecclesiastical, and Literary History of Hist Time. 7 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1859-1894.

Parker, William Riley. Milton: A Biography. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.

Wilson, A. N. The Life of John Milton. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1983.

 

Encyclopedias

A Milton Encyclopedia. William B. Hunter, Jr. ed. John T. Shawcross co ed. Lewisburg: Bucknell University Press, 1978.

The Age of Milton: an encyclopedia of major 17th century British and American authors. Alan Hager ed. Westport, Greenword Press, 2004.

The Catholic Encyclopedia. New York: Catholic Encyclopedia Press, 1907-1922.

Further Milton Research and Critical Studies

A Concise Companion to Milton. Angelica Duran ed. Malden: Blackwell Publications, 2007.

Campbell, Gordon. John Milton: Complete English Poems, Of Education, Areopagitica. Dent, 1990 

Danielson, Dennis. Milton's Good God. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1982.

Duran, Angelica. The Age of Milton and the Scientific Revolution. Pittsburgh: Duquesne University Press, 2007.

Evans, J. Martin. 'Paradise Lost' and the Genesis Tradition. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1968.

Hughes, Merritt Y. John Milton: Complete Poems and Major Prose. New York: Odyssey Press, 1957.

John Milton: The Complete Poems. John Leonard ed. London: Penguin Books, 1998.

Krouse, F. M. Milton's Samson and the Christon Tradition. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1949.

Leonard, John. Naming in Paradise: Milton and the Language of Adam and Eve. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1990.

Lewis, C. S. A Preface to Paradise Lost. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1961.

Lowenstein, David. Milton annd the Drama of History. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990.

Marjara, Harinder S. Contemplation of Created Things: Science in 'Paradise Lost'. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1992.

Prince, F. T. The Italian Element in Milton's Verse. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1954.

Steadman, John M. Epic and Tragic Structure in 'Paradise Lost'. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1976.