Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

English 544 - Milton: Journals and Databases

Journals

Milton Quarterly

Huntington Library Quarterly

Renaissance Quarterly

Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900

The Review of English Studies

The Seventeenth Century

University of Toronto Quarterly

 

Journals and articles from these journals can be searched online through Purdue under the eJournals or Articles tabs:

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/#ejournals

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/#articles 

Some of the journals are available online through Purdue, while print versions may be available in the stacks.  Remember that you can request articles through ILL and UBorrow if Purdue does not have a print or online version.

"I thence / invoke thy aid to my advent'rous song..." (Paradise Lost, Book I, Lines 12-13)

Databases Available Through Purdue

Art Full-Text - EBSCO portal: "Art information from 900 periodicals, including 280 peer-reviewed journals."

British Newspapers, 1600-1900: Provides access to historic regional and national from the British Isles.

Dictionary of Literary Biography: "Biographical and analytical coverage of influential authors."

Early English Books Online (EBBO): "Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661)."

JSTOR: Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals.

Literature Resource Center:"Biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information about authors and their works."

MLA International Bibliography: A subject index for books, articles, and websites published on literatures, literary theory and criticism, history of the book, folklore, linguistics, etc. 

Oxford English Dictionary online

Project Muse: "Provides full-text online editions of over 340 scholarly journals arts, humanities, and the social sciences."

WorldCat: Worldwide online union catalog of books and materials in libraries.

 

Search the databases available through Purdue:

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/eresources/result.html?catid=0&listall=yes